KL Rahul scored a classy century after being retired hurt on Day One © Getty Images
KL Rahul scored a classy century after being retired hurt on Day One © Getty Images

(Can Karnataka defend their title or will Tamil Nadu emerge as the new champions of Ranji Trophy 2014-15? Catch Live Cricket Score of Day 2  of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15 final here)

Live Cricket Score Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu Ranji Trophy 2014-15 final at Mumbai, Day 4 here

LIVE SCORE at Stumps on Day 3: Karnataka 618/7  (1st innings)

Karun Nair 310 (533) Vinay Kumar 39 (171)

READ: Karun Nair’s triple century in Ranji Trophy 2014-15 final: Stats highlights

READ: Day Three report

Shreyas Gopal c Dinesh Karthik b Aswin Crist 11 (21)

KL Rahul c Vijay Shankar b Malolan Rangarajan 188 (320)

Abhimanyu Mithun lbw Malolan Rangarajan 39 (41)

Manish Pandey Baba Aparajith b Laxmipati Balaji 6 (20)

Robin Uthappa c Baba Indrajith b Laxmipati Balaji 0 (6)

Shishir Bhavane c Baba Indrajith b Prasanth Parameswaran 0 (2)

Samarth R c Murali Vijat b Laxmipati Balaji 14 (17)

Stats Update: Karun Nair (304 not out) becomes the highest scorer (in an innings) for Karnataka against Tamil Nadu. He has gone past Abdul Azeem 303 no out, which he did in 1986-87 season at Coimbatore. He is currently the second highest scorer (in an innings) for Karnataka. KL Rahuls’337 against Uttar Pardesh this season is the highest score by a Karnataka batsman in Ranji Trophy.

Here are all the statistics about Karun Nair’s innings: 

Highest scores in Ranji Trophy final
319, Gul Mohammad (Baroda) vs Holkar, Baroda, 1946-47
310*, Karun Nair vs Tamil Nadu, Wankhede, 2014-15

Highest scores for Karnataka
337, KL Rahul vs Uttar Pradesh, Chinnaswamy, 2014-15
310*, Karun Nair vs Tamil Nadu, Wankhede, 2014-15

Highest scores vs Tamil Nadu
310*, Karun Nair for Karnataka, Wankhede, 2014-15
303*, Abdul Azeem for Hyderabad, Secunderabad, 1986-87

Highest Ranji Trophy scores at Wankhede

377, Sanjay Manjrekar for Bombay vs Hyderabad, 1990-91
340, Sunil Gavaskar for Bombay vs Bengal, 1981-82
310*, Karun Nair for Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu, Wankhede, 2014-15

READ: Day Two Report Here

Tamil Nadu 134 (1st Innings)


Karnataka: Vinay Kumar R (C), K L Rahul, Robin Uthappa (Wk), Karun Nair, Manish Pandey, Samarth R, Shreyas Gopal, Shishir Bhavane, Abhimanyu Mithun, Arvind Sreenath, Sharath H S

Tamil Nadu: Abhinav Mukund (C), Murali Vijay, Baba Aparajith, Baba Indrajith, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Vijay Shankar, Malolan Rangarajan, Aswin Crist, Laxmipati Balaji, R Prasanna, Prasanth Parameswaran

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15 final between Karnataka and Tamil Nadu from Mumbai. I am Sandipan Banerjee and I will be bringing all the Day Two updates of the title clash of this season’s premier domestic tournament, Ranji Trophy.

According to IANS, an unbeaten 239-run sixth-wicket partnership between KL Rahul (131 not out) and Karun Nair (130 not out) piled on Tamil Nadu’s agony as Karnataka reached a formidable total of 323/5 at stumps on Day 2 of the Ranji Trophy final at the Wankhede Stadium here on Monday.

Chasing Tamil Nadu’s first innings total of 134, the defending champions were tottering at 45/4 overnight. To add to that, the day began with Tamil Nadu reducing Karnataka to 84/5 as Abhimanyu Mithun (39) was picked up by off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan.

However, right-hander Nair joined Rahul in the middle and started the rebuilding phase of Karnataka. Both batsmen looked at ease on the green strip that witnessed 14 wickets falling on Day 1.

A watchful Nair kept out the good swinging deliveries but continued rotating the strike. Rahul was at his fluent best once again as he hit 13 fours and a six en route.

Nair sparkled late in his innings, after he had a good look at the opposition bowling attack and hit 19 boundaries in his knock. The Tamil Nadu bowlers toiled hard but even veteran pacer Lakshmipathy Balaji could not force a breakthrough.