Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the Ranji Trophy 2015-16 Group C match between Kerala and Jharkhand. Kerala will lock horns with Jharkhand at Malappuram, Kerala today i.e. on October 15, 2015 in a Group C match. This is the third round of Ranji Trophy 2015-16. Kerala’s performance in their two matches of this series has been average— they drew both the matches and have six points with them. They are ranked fourth in Group C while Jharkhand is ranked eight i.e. four places down owing to their two terrible losses in this tournament. Due to their poor performance so far they have zero points as of now. They lost the match against Saurashtra by eight wickets. Thus it is clear that Kerala start this match as favourites; however they should not take Jharkhand lightly. Teams have been known to come back stronger in previous Ranji Trophies on some occasions after being down and out in their initial matches. Read all Ranji Trophy 2015-16 team previews here

Sanju Samson, Rohan Prem and VA Jagadeesh will be the key batters for Kerala. Both Jagadeesh and Prem have batted well in this tournament so far and they would be their prime batters to watch out for in this match too. For Kerala, Ishan Kishen and Rameez Nemat need to bat with responsibility and play their scoring shots on lose deliveries only unlike what they did in their first match of the tournament. They should not play reckless, extravagant shots and get out. Jharkhand will look to their captain Varun Aaron to take early wickets in Kerala’s innings and thus lead from the front but other bowlers should also support him and batters should bat sensibly and with discipline which is so much required in Test cricket.

Live cricket scores Kerala 3/1  | Overs 3| Batting: VA Jagadeesh 2(11), Ahamed Farzeen 0(5): Kerala have lost their first wicket Akshay Kodoth for just one run. VA Jagadeesh and Ahamed Farzeen are at the crease and they would like to build a nice partnership. Jagadeesh has been in good form in this series and he would like to take his form to this match as well.

OUT! Akshay Kodoth c Ishan Kishan b Varun Aaron 1(2)

Live cricket scores Jharkhand 202  | Overs 76| Batting: Ashish Kumar 4(15):  Jharkhand lose their most valued wicket, Saurabh Tiwary is bowled by Rohan Prem. Kerala bowl out Jharkhand for 202. Warrier emerged as their most successful bowler by taking four wickets. Saurabh Tiwary top scored with 75.

OUT! Varun Aaron c Sanju Samson b Warrier 37(64), Saurabh Tiwary b Rohan Prem 75(145), Jaskaran lbw Rohan Prem 5(29)

Live cricket scores Jharkhand 164/7  | Overs 62| Batting: Varun Aaron 31(52), Saurabh Tiwary 53(118):  Saurabh Tiwary has come back to the middle after the loss of Jharkhand’s seventh wicket in the form of Shahbaz Nadeem. He has completed his fifty. On the other end Varun Aaron is batting on 31. So two set batters are at the crease right now and this is the perfect opportunity for them to seize the initiative of the match in their favour.

OUT! Shahbaz Nadeem st Sanju Samson b Kareparambil 3(23)

Live cricket scores Jharkhand 121/6  | Overs 49| Batting: Varun Aaron 6(14), Shahbaz Nadeem 1(4): Saurabh Tiwary got retired hurt when he was batting on 44. Jharkhand have lost four wickets in just 19 overs. Things looking difficult for them, they are in danger of getting all out on a score of under 200. At present their skipper Varun Aaron is on the crease. Both the batters need to be stubborn on not losing their wicket for the next fifty runs at least.

OUT! Prakash Munda c Kodoth b Kareparambil 54(134), Ishank Jaggi b Niyas Nizar 6(22), Anand Singh b Vincent Gomez 4(15), Kaushal Singh c Sanju Samson b Warrier 0(9)

Live cricket scores Jharkhand 87/2  | Overs 31| Batting:  Prakash Munda 39(94), Saurabh Tiwary 44(90): Saurabh Tiwary is just six runs short of his fifty. Both the batters are batting with discipline and have taken Jharkhand out of the difficult situation in which they lost two wickets early on on the innings. Jharkhand fans will be hoping that both these batters complete their hundreds as well.

Live cricket scores Jharkhand 75/2  | Overs 26| Batting:  Prakash Munda 30(75), Saurabh Tiwary 42(78): Prakash Munda and Saurabh Tiwary are batting well. Saurabh Tiwary is nearing his fifty. He has hit eight sweetly timed fours in his 42 run knock so far. Prakash Munda is batting on 30 having faced 75 balls. He has hit four boundaries in his innings and is batting at a strike rate of 40.

Live cricket scores Jharkhand 42/2  | Overs 15| Batting:  Prakash Munda 21(42), Saurabh Tiwary 19(45): After losing two wickets— Sanju Samson and SP Gautam for a duck, Prakash Munda and Saurabh Tiwary are reconstructing the innings. Both have hit two boundaries so far. Warrier took the two wickets which fell. He is bowling well.

OUT! Ishan Kishan c Sanju Samson b Warrier 0(1), SP Gautam c Sanju Samson b Warrier 0(4)

Toss: Kerala, who chose to field


Kerala: Sanju Samson (c, wk), A Jagadeesh, Akshay Kodoth, Rohan Prem, Fabid Ahmed, Raiphi Gomez, , Sachin Baby, Sandeep Warrier, MD Nidheesh, Nikhilesh Surendran, Karaparambil Monish

Jharkhand: Varun Aaron (c), Kumar Deobrat, Ishan Kishen (wk), Rameez Nemat, Virat Singh, Ishank Jaggi, Saurabh Tiwary, SP Gautam, Kaushal Singh, Shahbaz Nadeem, Samar Quadri, Vinayak Vikram, Rahul Shukla, Ajay Yadav and Jaskaran Singh.