Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of day 1 of the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2015-16 Group A match between Maharashtra and Assam in Pune on Monday. Assam is in a better position currently as they have won three matches of the six they played so far. Losing two and having drawn one, they have gathered 22 points and are currently at number three in the Group A table. Maharashtra, on the other hand, need to win this one as they haven’t been able to register a win yet. Having drawn four matches by far, they have only 10 points in hand and would surely look forward to increase that.

Start delayed due to wet outfield.

Assam played their last match against Delhi which they won and the team had many positives to take from that. Assam saw good spells from Krishna Das and Arup Das as they were elemental in ceasing a good Delhi side by 149. Krishna took four wickets while Arup bagged three in the first innings. Arun Karthik turned the saviour with bat as he scored 81 runs and emerged as the highest run-getter. The second innings saw an almost similar scenario as Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad and Amit Verma took three wickets each and Delhi’s innings ended at 172 all out. Assam chased the required runs easily and won the contest and would like to continue that run by defeating Maharashtra.

Maharashtra seek a lot of improvement as they are coming from a disappointing defeat from Bengal. Bengal put up a total of 528 for Maharashtra to chase and Maharashtra replied with 406 all out. Bengal easily picked up a victory by scoring 100 runs in the second innings. It is high time for Maharashtra to get into the winning note.


Maharashtra: Rohit Motwani (c & wk), Swapnil Gugale, Ankit Bawne, Harshad Khadiwale, Anupam Sanklecha, Chirag Khurana, Rahul Tripathi, Sangram Atitkar, Domnic Joseph, Shrikant Mundhe, Samad Fallah, Akshay Darekar, Kedar Jadhav, Nikti Dhumal, Vijay Zol, Bharatkumar Solanki

Assam: Gokul Sharma(c), Rahul Hazarika, Pallavkumar Das, Amit Verma, Arun Karthik, Tarjinder Singh, Kunal Saikia(wk), Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad, Swarupam Purkayastha, Arup Das, Krishna Das, Abu Nechim, Pritam Das, Rishav Kalapkanti Das, Sibsankar Roy, Bikash Chetri, Dhiraj Goswami