Vijay Shankar remained unbeaten on 56 © PTI
Vijay Shankar remained unbeaten on 56 © PTI

(Maharashtra take on Tamil Nadu in the second semi-final of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15 tournament in Kolkata. Catch Live Cricket Score Updates here)


Live Score at stumps on Day 2:

Tamil Nadu 426/5

R Prasanna 64 (175) Baba Indrajith 68 (120)

Dinesh Karthik 113 (305) c R H Motwani b Shrikant Mundhe

Vijay Shankar 91 (194) c K M Jadhav b C G Khurana

Baba Aparajith 20 (81) ct Shrikant Mundhe b S M Fallah

Murali Vijay 28 (109) ct R H Motwani b D J Muthuswamy

Abhinav Mukund ct C G Khurana b A A Sanklecha 23 (79)

READ: Day Two report here

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of the second semi-final match of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15 between Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, being played at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. This is Sandipan Banerjee and I will be bringing you the updates from the second semi-final match of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15. Tamil Nadu crawl to 192 for 3 in the 2nd Ranji Trophy 2014-15 Semi-final against Maharashtra at Kolkata

On the opening day of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15 second semi-final, Tamil Nadu, who chose to bat after winning the toss, made a slow start and could manage only 192 for the loss of three wickets. Vijay Shankar was the only batsman who managed a half-century as the top three batsmen in the Tamil Nadu batting line-up failed to covert starts into big scores. UPDATES: Maharashtra vs Tamil Nadu Ranji Trophy 2014-15, 2nd Semi-final at Kolkata: Tamil Nadu finsih Day 1 at 192/3

Opening batsmen Abhinav Mukund and Murali Vijay provided a solid start as they both were cautious early on not to give Maharashtra an early advantage. While Mukund faced 79 balls to score 23 runs before falling to Anupam Saklecha, the right-hander Murali Vijay faced as many as 109 balls to score 28, and was dismissed by Muthuswamy. LIVE! Karnataka vs Mumbai Ranji Trophy 2014-15, 1st Semi-final at Bangalore Day 2

Right-handed Dinesh Karthik had a good outing as he was unbeaten on 48 off 156 balls with the help of eight boundaries. Alongside him at the crease at stumps on the first day was Vijay Shankar, batting on 56 not out off 97 balls with the help of seven hits to the fence.

For Maharashtra, Samad Fallah, Anupam Saklecha and DJ Muthuswamy claimed one wicket each. Shrikant Mundhe had an ordinary outing as he failed to get any wicket in his 22 overs, off which Tamil Nadu batsmen scored 40 runs.


Tamil Nadu: Abhinav Mukund (c), Murali Vijay, Baba Aparajith, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Baba Indrajith, R Prasanna, Vijay Shankar, Laxmipati Balaji, Malolan Rangarajan, Prasanth Parameswaran, Aswin Crist

Maharashtra: Rohit Motwani (c & wk), Ankeet Bawane, Kedar Jadhav, Harshad Khadiwale, S M Gugale, R Tripathi, Shrikant Mundhe, Anupam Sanklecha, D J Muthuswamy, Samad Fallah, Chirag Khurana.