Live Updates

  • 8:17 PM IST

    Afghanistan win by 3 wickets versus West Indies.

  • 7:49 PM IST

  • 7:32 PM IST

    Hong Kong are 128 for 9. Nepal TO BURST INTO CELEBRATIONS IN 3….2….1…

  • 7:22 PM IST

    Hong Kong, meanwhile, 123 for 7 in 40.4 overs. They are making it tough for themselves with Babar Hayat back in the hut as well.

    On the other hand, Nepal must be in mood of celebrations.
  • 7:21 PM IST

    Afghanistan are 135 for 4 in 37.3 overs. They should be safely home.

  • 6:55 PM IST

    Afghanistan 116 for 3, in chase of 198. Nabi 23*, Rahmat 44*.

  • 6:55 PM IST

    Hong Kong 94 for 6; struggling in pursuit of 174. Nepal would be glued to this tie. A loss for HK would ensure ODI status for Nepal.

  • 6:21 PM IST

    At halfway stage, HK are 73 for 3. They need 101 more to win.

  • 5:01 PM IST

    Nepal defeat PNG quite handsomely by 6 wicket. Dipendra Singh Airee was the star with the bat for Nepal, making 50* during their 115 run chase. He was well supported Paras Khadka and Aarif Sheikh.

  • 4:40 PM IST
    Dipendra Singh Airee and Aarif Shaikh have taken Nepal to safety. They are now touching distance of attain ODI status, a win here places them nearer to their dream. PNG has played appauling cricket in this match.
  • 4:26 PM IST

    West Indies manage 197 for 8 in 50 overs. Will this be enough?

  • 4:17 PM IST

    Nepal 56 for 3. Dipendra Singh Airee has struck a 22-ball 15*, and giving him company is Aarif Sheikh. The duo ar elooking to play out sensibly, as only an unimaginable surrender can lead to PNG’s victory.

  • 4:16 PM IST

    West Indies 181 for 8 in 48 overs. They would be hoping for anything over 200. Their bowlers are doing a fine job, and should give a good fight in defence of over 200.

  • 4:15 PM IST

    NED all-out for 174. They were, at one stage, 145 for 3, and slipped from thereon.

  • 4:02 PM IST

    OUT! Paras Khadka, the BIG FISH, is back to the pavillion. Now the match is certainly wide open. Nepal are 35 for 3.

    John Reva gets Khadka caught by Tony Ura. Khadka gone for 20.
  • 3:58 PM IST

    Khadka already displaying his class. He is in great form, and has taken the scoreboard forward despite a wobbly start. Nepal 34-2.

  • 3:40 PM IST

    And the ever-dependable Paras Khadka comes in the middle. He has been their lone in-form player. Gyanendra Malla departs for 1.

  • 3:36 PM IST

    NED 150-5 in 37.4 overs

    WI 145-4 in 36.5 overs
  • 3:32 PM IST

    Nepal commence chase.

  • 3:08 PM IST

    Netherlands are 139 for 3 in 32 overs. Borren 27*, Leede 18*.

  • 3:07 PM IST

    West Indies are currently 109 for 4 in 31 overs. Shai Hope and skipper Jason Holder holding their ends. A good partnership will here take them to a decent total. Afghanistan have been decent, but would not want to chase anything more than 200.

  • 3:06 PM IST

    PNG all out for 114. They were never in it. First the pacers, Sompal Kami and Karan KC, initiated their downfall through tight bowling and early jolts. Then, Sandeep Lamichhane and Dipendra Singh Airee completely ran through a highly-poor bating lineup. The duo share eight wickets in between.

    Nepal need a mere 115 for victory. This should be overhauled easily.
  • 2:55 PM IST

    Dipendra Singh Airee strikes. He gets rid of Jason Kila, PNG sink further. They are 113 for 9.

  • 2:47 PM IST

    OUT! Charles Amini falls for 19. Dipendra Airee gets his leg-before. JOhn Reva is out in the middle for PNG.

  • 2:43 PM IST

    Jason Kila and Charles Amini have managed to take PNG’s total past the 100-run mark. Amini in particular has been aggressive. PNG will bank on Norman Vanua to provide late fireworks.

  • 2:32 PM IST

    OUT! Netherlands have lost their 3 wicket. Maxwell O’Dowd falls for a well made 62. Aisan Khan getting his first wicket. Peter Borren still in the middle for Netherlands.

  • 2:27 PM IST

    Lamichhane gets four. He now removes Doriga. This is brilliant bowling from the youngster who is gearing up for IPL 2018. On the other hand, no application whatsoever from PNG batters.

  • 2:18 PM IST

    Half the side is back in the hut. DOes PNG really know how to bat? No one is willing to stay and fight it out. Lamichhane strikes thrice in less than four overs. PNG 65-5.

Both teams aim for ODI status © Getty Images
Both teams aim for ODI status © Getty Images

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018. In Match 21, we see Nepal take on Papua New Guinea (PNG) at Old Hararians Sports Club in Harare. An ODI status awaits the winner of the 7th place play-off. And Nepal as well as PNG will strive hard to get that status. Nepal are in a better position as that to PNG. They finished fourth in the Group B points table, courtesy their five-wicket win over Hong Kong. That win allowed Afghanistan to earn their spot in the Super Sixes. Meanwhile, Afghanistan are taking on West Indies at Harare in an important Super Six game.

Afghanistan have beaten West Indies once in ODIs and who can forget their remarkable triumph in the 2016 World T20. Phil Simmons, who was coaching West Indies, not too long back, is now in the Afghanistan camp. Before the tournament began, these two were touted favourites to make it to the 2019 World Cup. This should be a spicy affair. PNG had their moments as well in the tournament. Tony Ura emerged a hero for them, when he scored 151 against Ireland. He followed it up scoring 37 against West Indies. However, none could power PNG to the victory. Yet, Ura remains PNG’s best hope against Nepal.

To play spoilsport, some rains are expected for the day. Harare witnessed heavy rainfall last last week. The Old Hararians have worked in favour of the batsmen. Same could be expected for the crucial tie as well.


Nepal: Paras Khadka (c), Dipendra Singh Airee (wk), Aarif Sheikh, Lalit Bhandari, Shakti Gauchan, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Gyanendra Malla, Dilip Nath, Rohit Kumar, Lalit Rajbanshi, Basant Regmi, Anil Sah, Sompal Kami, Sharad Vesawkar

Papua New Guinea: Assadollah Vala (c), Jack Vare (wk), Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Mahuru Dai, Kiplin Doriga, Jason Kila, Vani Morea, Alei Nao, Damien Ravu, John Reva, Lega Siaka, Chad Soper, Tony Ura, Norman Vanua