Netherlands will look to ease past Nepal © Getty Images
Netherlands will look to ease past Nepal © Getty Images

Catch live cricket scores and ball-by-ball commentary of Netherlands vs Nepal 1st T20I at Amstelveen

(Can Nepal beat Netherlands in their own backyard or will the hosts ease to a win? Catch Live cricket scores and updates between Netherlands and Nepal, 1st T20I at Amstelveen)

Live cricket score: Nepal 116/7 | Overs 20

Three singles, two braces and a wicket gets Nepal to 116 for 7. The lack of big hits, and consistent wickets hurt them. Khadka finishes unbeaten on 45 off 42 balls. Disciplined bowling from Netherlands’ bowlers was a crucial factor.

Netherlands clinch the first T20I by 18 runs.

Karan KC c Borren b van der Gugten 2 (3)

Live cricket score: Nepal 107/6 | Overs 19

Although Khadka had held the chase together, they needed more hits. And now, Pradeep Airee is also out, meaning another dot ball. They need a near-impossible 26 off the final over.

Pradeep Airee c Cooper b Jamil 6 (9)

Live cricket score: Nepal 85/5 | Overs 16

Nepal’s chase getting more difficult with some tight overs But their captain Khadka is still there, holding fort, and the game seems to rest on his shoulders, as another wicket falls. Perhaps a good time to bring out his interview with CricketCountry a few days ago by Sandipan Banerjee: here.

S Vesawkar c Mudassar Bukhari b van der Gugten 10 (14)

Live cricket score: Nepal 77/4 | Overs 14

Chase getting tighter now for both teams. The required run-rate is not allowed to go beyond 10, but with regular wickets the chase will be difficult. Rajesh Pulami was last batsman to be out, run-out.

Rajesh Pulami run out 13 (13)

Live cricket score: Nepal 57/3 | Overs 11

Rajesh Pulami has hit the first six of the innings as Nepal try to lift their scoring rate. Khadka and Pulami trying to stitch a valuable partnership.

Live cricket score: Nepal 36/3 | Overs 8

Bhandari is caught out at deep mid-wicket and Malla, prolific at the other end, is also caught in the deep. Although Nepal have their captain at the crease, the sudden fall of wickets has destabilized their chase, as they are also behind the required run-rate.

B Bhandari c van Meekeren b Jamil 5 (9)

G Malla c Cooper b Rippon 24 (22)

Live cricket score: Nepal 24/1 | Overs 5

Binod Bhandari has hit his first boundary, and alongside Malla is trying to bring stability to the chase. The two have been securing singles regularly.

Live cricket score: Nepal 19/1 | Overs 4

WICKET! Nepal lose their first wicket as Subash Khakurel has been dismissed lbw. But the other opener Malla has been moving the scoreboard along for his team.

Subash Khakurel lbw Jamil 2 (7)

Live cricket score: Nepal 11/0 | Overs 2

Opener Gyanendra Malla has hit two boundaries to get Nepal up and running their chase of 135.


Catch Pramod Ananth’s innings report of the middling Netherlands batting performance in their 20 overs here.

Live cricket score Netherlands: 134/5 |Overs 20

BATTING: Stephen Myburgh  67 (60), Michael Rippon 25 (25)

Netherlands have done well to end at 134 in their 20 overs. It looked impossible at one stage but they have done well to recover. Basant Regmi and Karan KC picked up two wickets and one wicket respectively.

Live cricket score Netherlands: 112/5 |Overs 18

BATTING: Stephen Myburgh  50 (55), Michael Rippon 22 (22)

Netherlands have recovered somewhat as opener Stephen Myburgh scores a half-century. But Nepal would be happy with their performance so far.

Live cricket score Netherlands: 70/5 |Overs 12

BATTING: Stephen Myburgh  31 (21)

Live cricket score Netherlands: 38/3|Overs 6

BATTING: Stephen Myburgh  29 (21), Peter Borren 3 (11)

Oh Dear! Another run out and this time it is Barresi. Netherlands in a little bit of trouble here, but they can bounce back. Nepal will be looking for more wickets. Peter Borren is the new batsman.

Wesley Barresi run out 1 (5)

Live cricket score Netherlands: 20/2 |Overs 3

BATTING: Stephen Myburgh 17 (11), Wesley Barresi 0 (3)

Nepal strike earl as opener Michael Swart is dismissed early. He cuts the ball to covers and goes for a run but falls short of his crease when the bails are knocked off. No.3 batsman Ben Cooper is dismissed off the first delivery. What an awesome start for Nepal!

OUT! Michael Swart run out 4 (3), Ben Cooper c Regmi b Karan 0 (1)


Playing XI

Netherlands: Peter Borren (c), Stephen Myburgh, Michael Swart, Wesley Barresi (wk), Ben Cooper, Pieter Seelaar, Mudassar Bukhari, Timm van der Gugten, Paul van Meekeren, Ahsan Malik.

Nepal: Paras Khadka (c), Subash Khakurel (wk), Pradeep Airee, Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar, Rajesh Pulami, Binod Bhandari, Sompal Kami, KC Karan, Basant Regmi

Toss: Netherlands have won the toss and elected to bat first

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of the first T20I between Netherlands and Nepal at Amstelveen on Tuesday.

Netherlands take on Nepal in the first T20I at Amstelveen. Nepal will look to cause a major upset in this match and give Netherlands a run for their money. Netherlands have not played a T20I in over a year. But the last time they played an international T20 they decimated England and registered a huge win over their neighbours. Netherlands vs Nepal, 1st T20I at Amstelveen: Preview

Nepal were recently hit by a massive earthquake and are still recovering from its after effects. The cricket team were training in Dharmasala after the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) offered them to train there ahead of this series. Nepal made full use of it and would have hoped that all their practice will come in handy in the series.

Peter Borren will lead the Dutch in the series. He has vast experienced players at his disposal. Nepal, on the other hand do not have much of experience at the international stage but will look to make the best of this experience. Both teams will be a part of the World T20 qualifier in July and will want to win and take their momentum into that tournament as well.


Netherlands: Peter Borren (c) , Tobais Visee (wk), Rahil Ahmed, Wesley Barresi (wk), Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Ahsan Malik, Stephen Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Michael Swart, Timm van der Gugten, Paul van Meekeren, Thijs van Schelven, Roelof Van Der Merwe.

Nepal: Paras Khadka (c), Subash Khakurel (wk), Pradeep Airee, Binod Bhandari, Shakti Gauchan, KC Karan, Siddhant Lohani, Rajesh Magar, Gyanendra Malla, Anil Mandal, Jitendra Mukhiya, Basant Regmi, Sagar Pun, Sompal Kami, Sharad Vesawkar.

Catch live cricket scores and ball-by-ball commentary of Netherlands vs Nepal 1st T20I at Amstelveen