Live Updates

  • 8:56 PM IST

    Match called off with both teams sharing a point each. Tamim’s fifty goes in vain and that tremendous effort in the death overs indeed worked the magic for Peshawar. So that does not affect the points table as well and Quetta’s dreams to reach the top spot is dashed out.

  • 8:21 PM IST

    The game does not seem to begin. A cut-off time has been given and if the game does not begin by then, then the match will be called-off. The rain has not stopped. The overs were even reduced to 9 and target was reduced to 79. But looks like the rains don’t want the game to begin anytime soon.

  • 7:20 PM IST

    Live: Peshawar Zalmi 117/3, 16 Overs, BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 62, Sohaib Maqsood 30: Tamim gets his fifty in style with a six towards corner region. With wickets intact, Tamim has been the driving force for Peshawar Zalmi once again. Maqsood has been just the support staff here. Last over to go and what is target going to be set for QG? Thisara comes into attack, pretty late! And 118 is the target for Quetta. Now what has the second-half in store for us. Let’s wait for that.

  • 7:05 PM IST

    Live: Peshawar Zalmi 83/3, 13 Overs, BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 40, Sohaib Maqsood 18: And we are back and it is now a 16 over match. Knowing the importance of this game, Tamim begins with a huge Six. Mohammad Nawaz begins with 11 runs of the over. What is in store next?

  • 6:50 PM IST

    And it gets funnier, the rain interrupts play for third time and was even reduced to 18 overs. Looks like it can get further delayed with the rains getting heavier by the time.

  • 6:39 PM IST

    Live: Peshawar Zalmi 72/3, 12 Overs, BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 32, Sohaib Maqsood 16: And rains are back again and much heavier than ever. Decent score of Peshawar Zalmi with 72 runs so far despite fall of quick wickets. So now let’s see where this game heads.

  • 6:23 PM IST

    Live: Peshawar Zalmi 57/3, 9 Overs, BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 27, Sohaib Maqsood 6: And while updating the blog, there were fall of two more wickets in succession. It began with Kamran Akmal and ended with Eoin Morgan. Hasan Jhan, Asad Shafiq and Mahmudullah have picked the wickets so far. Then comes Tamim’s six amidst all the drama. 😀 Now what has Hasan Khan’s over got in store for us? And Sohaib Maqsood ends with a boundary.

  • 6:11 PM IST

    Live: Peshawar Zalmi 41/1, 6 Overs, BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 20, Kamran Akmal 0: So Anwar Ali already conceded 8 runs in the over. Now it rolls over Mohammad Nawaz or as my editor says Mohammad Nawaz the third. Rains have been boon for Quetta with the flow runs under control. Ah what a sight, a Bangladesh player bowling to another Bangladeshi. Mahmudullah to Tamim. And a wicket for Mahmudullah and Hafeez fails again.

  • 5:24 PM IST

    And interestingly, rain halts this game as well. Not that rains have any issues with the blogs I cover, but Afghanistan had the advantage of rains and won the match against Zimbabwe by (D/L) method 😀

  • 5:11 PM IST

    Live: Peshawar Zalmi 22/0, 3 Overs, BATTING: Tamim Iqbal 12, Mohammad Hafeez 5: Babar Azam begins the attack for Quetta and with those brownie points coming Zalmi’s way, they would not mind it. A boundary with a wide along with a boundary from Tamim, perfect start is this. Mohammad Hafeez tags along as well for the boundaries and Tamim ends it by the 3rd over.

  • 4:58 PM IST

    Peshawar Zalmi: Mohammad Hafeez, Tamim Iqbal, Kamran Akmal (wk), Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Shakib Al Hasan, Sohaib Maqsood, Darren Sammy (c), Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan

  • 4:48 PM IST

    Quetta Gladiators: Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk & c), Mahmudullah, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Hasan Khan, Zulfiqar Babar

  • 4:48 PM IST

    Toss Update: Quetta Gladiators win toss and opt to bowl

  • 4:46 PM IST

    Hello and Welcome to my blog of PSL 2017. I assure you, this won’t be a boring one 😀

Quetta Gladiators were the runners-up of PSL 2016 © AFP
Quetta Gladiators were the runners-up of PSL 2016 © AFP

Good Evening! Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live cricket coverage of the Match No. 9 of the second edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2017. We will be bringing you live updates of the match between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators. Both teams are at the top of the points table with same points (4). However, Zalmi are ahead boasting of better net run-rate. Both teams have played three matches each, winning two and losing one each. Quetta have been the runners-up of the previous edition. This will also be the first clash between these two sides in this tournament.

Zalmi comprise of a strong batting unit with likes of Shahid Afridi, Eoin Morgan, Mohammad Hafeez,Darren Sammy among others. None of these batsmen have top-scored in the matches Zalmi have won. However, the players would want to find their mojo and to help team become a formidable unit. Their bowling has been the talking point in every game – be it restricting Karachi Kings to 118 or stopping Lahore Qalandars to 59. Zalmi will once again hope to ride on their bowling success against Quetta. Zalmi will also hope to build the gap in the points table winning the next game by a huge margin. PSL 2017: Points table & team standings

Quetta, on the other hand, boast of strong batting line-up with likes of Kevin Pietersen and Rilee Rossouw. However, Pietersen has managed to score just 3 runs in as many games along with two ducks in few games. Ahmad Shahzad and Asad Shafiq have also failed to go all guns-blazing in the tournament. The focus for Quetta will be their batsmen to fire up, if they wish to topple over Zalmi through this crucial clash.


Quetta Gladiators: Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Mahmudullah, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Hasan Khan, Umar Gul, Bismillah Khan, Nathan McCullum, Luke Wright, Mir Hamza, Noor Wali, Saad Nasim, Tymal Mills, Umar Amin, Zulfiqar Babar

Peshawar Zalmi: Mohammad Hafeez, Dawid Malan, Kamran Akmal (wk), Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Darren Sammy (c), Chris Jordan, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tamim Iqbal, Andre Fletcher, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imran Khan jnr, Junaid Khan, Khushdil Shah, Samit Patel, Marlon Samuels