Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Punjab and Andhra Pradesh, live from Patiala. Both Punjab and Andhra did not play well in their last match. Punjab drew their match against Madhya Pradesh but conceded three points to the opposition. On the other hand, Andhra lost their match against Uttar Pradesh by 56 runs. Punjab thus have a slight edge going in this match due to slightly better performance in their previous match compared to that of Andhra. Punjab have 11 points while Andhra nine from the first four rounds of the tournament. Punjab will bank heavily on their batters to deliver the goods. Yuvraj, who lately has come back in form (since he cracked a brilliant 187 in the third round match of this series) but is lacking consistency may not play in this match. Andhra, on the other hand would like that their captain Mohammad Kaif and middle-order batsman Prasanth Kumar to score big. READ: Ranji Trophy 2015-16, full coverage here

Live cricket scores Punjab 128/7 | Andhra 80 | Overs 42 | Batting: Siddharth Kaul 7(29), Varun Khanna 0(2): Punjab lose two wickets in quick succession. Jiwanjot Singh perishes just after scoring his fifty. Himanshu Chawla soon follows suit. Two new batsmen— Siddharth Kaul and Varun Khanna are at the crease now. Punjab are leading by 48 runs. Let’s see if they can stretch their lead beyond 100 runs. OUT! Jiwanjot Singh b Prashanth Kumar 59(101), Himanshu Chawla b Shankar Rao 6(13)

Live cricket scores Punjab 101/5 | Andhra 80 | Overs 33.2 | Batting: Jiwanjot Singh 49(90), Himanshu Chawla 1(10): Punjab have lost half their side on 101 runs. They are leading by 21 runs now. We’ll have to say that Andhra bowlers have bowled well in the last 14 overs to bring them back into the game. Punjab would be hoping that they extend their lead to around 100 and hence go to bowl with a positive frame of mind in the third innings of the match. OUT! Uday Kaul lbw Prashanth Kumar 27(64), Mandeep Singh run out Prashanth Kumar 0(6), Gurkeerat Singh b Prashanth Kumar 8(9), Gitansh Khera c B Samarth b Shankar Rao 4(4)

Live cricket scores Punjab 59/1 | Andhra 80 | Overs 20 | Batting: Jiwanjot Singh 31(58), Uday Kaul 21(44): Both Jiwanjot Singh and Uday Kaul are batting pretty well and have started scoring runs at a brisk pace since the last six overs. Punjab needs 21 more runs to clear off the trail and then the real worry would start for Andhra. To avoid it, they should look towards picking couple of more wickets before Punjab go past 80. Their bowling has appeared a little wayward at times today; they should look forward to bring more discipline in their bowling.

Live cricket scores Punjab 31/1 | Andhra 80 | Overs 14 | Batting: Jiwanjot Singh 18(44), Uday Kaul 6(22): Punjab have lost their first wicket Manan Vohra for five runs. Jiwanjot Singh and Uday Kaul are at the crease right now. Mandeep Singh and Gurkeerat Singh are next in the batting order. Punjab batsmen need to score big in their first innings and hence give a good lead to their team so that Andhra start their second innings on a heavy deficit from the first. Andhra were scuttled out on a mere 80 in the first innings of this match. Hence, it is important that Punjab batters play well to ensure the brilliant job done by their bowlers doesn’t goes in vain. OUT! Manan Vohra b Ayyappa Bandaru 5(20)

Live cricket scores Andhra 80 | Overs 45 | Batting: Gonnabattula Chiranjeevi 12(25): Andhra are bowled out for a paltry 80 runs. Their bowlers will have to bowl very well to bring them back into the match. Gurkeerat Singh took four wickets in the game, a lot will be expected from him when he comes to bat too. OUT! KV Sasikath b Rajwinder Golu 4(31), Ayyappa Bandaru c Jiwanjot Singh b Gurkeerat Singh, H Shivraj b Gurkeerat Singh 0(3)

Live cricket scores Andhra 68/7 | Overs 38.2 | Batting: Gonnabattula Chiranjeevi 6(12), KV Sasikath 2(14): Andhra have been reduced to 68 for seven. It was not that Andhra batsmen played poorly but it was more about the good bowling displayed by Punjab bowlers. Siddharth Kaul, Sarbjeet Ladda and Gurkeerat Singh have picked two wickets each while Rajwinder Golu has scalped one. All the Punjab bowlers bowled in the right areas and waited for the batsmen to make mistakes and hence all the bowlers were successful. KS Bharat has been the highest scorer for Andhra till now with 33. OUT! Prashanth Kumar c Uday Kaul b Gurkeerat Singh 33(100),  G Shankar Rao lbw Sarbjeet Ladda 4(22)

Live cricket scores Andhra 57/4 | Overs 30 | Batting: Prashanth Kumar 30(87),  G Shankar Rao 4(8): AG Pradeep gets out leg-before-wicket on the bowling of Sarbjeet Ladda. He tried to squeeze out as many balls as possible before getting out. G Shankar Rao has come to the center after his departure. He is batting along with Prashanth Kumar who is batting at the other end on a patient 30. OUT! AG Pradeep lbw Sarbjeet Ladda 12(42)

Live cricket scores Andhra 23/3 | Overs 12 | Batting: Prashanth Kumar 13(32), AG Pradeep 2(4): Andhra, who chose to bat first have lost three early wickets and they have not even reached fifty runs.  The crucial wicket was that of Mohammad Kaif, who got out for a duck. He was caught by Himanshu Chawla on the bowling of Siddharth Kaul. Andhra batsmen have to remain wary of Siddharth Kaul who is bowling very well at the moment. Prashanth Kumar and AG Pradeep are at the crease right now. Andhra need a good partnership from them to bail the team out of trouble. Ayyappa Bandaru is next to come. OUT! KS Bharat c Gurkeerat Singh b Rajwinder Golu 9(21), MUB Sriram b Siddharth Kaul 0(8), Mohammad Kaif c Himanshu Chawla b Siddharth Kaul 0(7)

Toss: Andhra, who chose to bat

Playing XI:

Punjab: Jiwanjot Singh, Mandeep Singh, Gurkeerat Mann (C), Manan Vohra, Gitansh Khera (W), Himanshu Chawla, Rajwinder Golu, Sarbjeet Ladda, Siddharth Kaul, Uday Kaul, Varun Khanna

Andhra: Ayyappa Bandaru, B Sumanth, DB Prashanth Kumar, Gonnabattula Chiranjeevi, KS Bharat (W), Kaif (C), MUB Sriram, AG Pradeep, KV Sasikanth, H Shivraj, G Shankar Rao

Bowling of both the teams is weak but still Punjab would be hoping that their main bowlers Pargat Singh and Mayank Sidhana give them early breakthroughs whereas Andhra will like that their bowler Vijay Kumar helps them get crucial wickets.


Punjab: Yuvraj Singh (c), Gitansh Khera (wk), Manan Vohra, Jiwanjot Singh, Uday Kaul, Mandeep Singh, Sarabjit Ladda, Varun Khanna, Deepak Bansal, Brainder Sran, Himanshu Chawla, Siddarth Kaul, Maninder Singh, Pargat Singh, Mayank Sidhana.

Andhra: Mohammad Kaif (c), Srikant Bharat (wk), Ricky Bhui, Kakani Harish, AG Pradeep, Jyoti Krishna, Prasanth Kumar, BSM Ayyappa, MUB Sriram, Ashwin Hebbar, KV Sasikanth, Hanumappa Shivraj, Siva Kumar, CV Stephen, Bodavarapu Sudhakar, BA Sumanth, DP Vijaykumar.