Live Updates

  • 4:35 PM IST

    Sammy’s side emerges victorious! They’ve beaten the table-toppers.

  • 4:34 PM IST

    Sammy goes up to his bowler to talk to him. Perhaps calms him up a bit. The result is evident in the next three balls. As just 3 singles follow and Rajshahi Kings beat Rangpur Riders by 12 runs!

  • 4:32 PM IST

    222 off 4 required Mithun hits it out of the park! 16 off 3 needed now.

  • 4:21 PM IST

    Live – Rangpur Riders 119/5, 17 overs; Mithun 47, Naeem Islam 0: At this point, Sammy is the difference between the two side. Rangpur need 43 off 18; Sammy scored 44 off 18. Can they pull it off? Mithun has hung around. He is on 47 and is joined by skipper Naeem Islam. Can Naeem emulate his opposite number today?

  • 4:07 PM IST

    Live – Rangpur Riders 100/3, 15 overs; Mithun 39, Anwar Ali 5: Soumya Sarkar has finally been dismissed for 8 off 10 balls. A weird dismissal, it brought the third umpire into play. The ball just kissed the stumps and took the bails of with a delay, something which was missed by all. The TV umpire ruled it out and Nazmul Hussain celebrated it with his trademark celebration. Anwar Ali has now been promoted with the idea of getting quick runs.

  • 3:47 PM IST

    WICKET: Nasir Jamshed has been run out by a mile. Rangpur two down in the tricky chase.

  • 3:46 PM IST

    Live – Rangpur Riders 61/1, 10 overs; Jamshed 24, Mithun 14: Jamshed and Mithun are batting sensibly here; hitting the odd balls for boundaries and rotating the strike. At the halfway stage, Rangpur are 61 for 1. They still need 102 runs in 60 balls. Not impossible, but extremely difficult from here.

  • 3:38 PM IST

    Samit Patel’s first over turned out to be a long one. No wides, no no-balls. It was a actually a catch which was sent upstairs to the third umpire which stopped the play. Sammy took a diving one-handed catch at mid-wicket of which he himself was not sure. Third umpire took his time and finally gave batsman the benefit of doubt.

  • 3:29 PM IST

    Live – Rangpur Riders 38/1, 8 overs; Jamshed 14, Mithun 3: Chasing 163, Shahzad has been dismissed. Rangpur lost him early after he was denied playing his brand of cricket by some tight bowling by the Rajshahi side. His wicket was just a matter of time after the runs dried up as spinners took hold of the game. Left-armer Nazmul Hussain cleaned him up with an arm-ball. He has been replaced by Mohammad Mithun.

  • 3:22 PM IST

    Wicket! Mohammad Shahzad has gone for 18; Rangpur 30/1 after 7 overs.

  • 3:11 PM IST

    Live – Rangpur Riders 20/0, 4 overs; Shahzad 14, Jamshed 4: Rangpur Riders have made a cautious start in pursuit of 163. Their Afghan-Pakistan duo of Mohammad Shahzad and Nasir Jamshed has added … runs in first four overs. Shahzad has taken his chances, calculated ones though. Jamshed is biding his time in the meanwhile. He is getting himself in. Spin has already been introduced and it is going to play a crucial part in this game.

  • 2:58 PM IST

    The duo of Darren Sammy and Umar Akmal, which collectively has enormous experience of T20 cricket, guided Rajshahi Kings to a competitive 162. Here’s a detailed innings report.

  • 2:40 PM IST

    Live – Rajshahi Kings 162/5, 20 overs; Akmal 33, Sammy 44: 59 runs in the last 4 overs. I repeat, 59 runs in the last 4 overs. Darren Sammy goes on a rampage and scores as many as 44 off just 18 balls, including 3 fours and 4 sixes. Riders need 163 to win.

  • 2:34 PM IST
    Live – Rajshahi Kings 102/5, 16 overs; Akmal 10, Sammy 8: Captain Sammy comes to bat and starts off with a blistering boundary. They need more — more of these boundaries. He should aim to take his team past 150 to jump up the rankings.
  • 2:17 PM IST

    Live – Rajshahi Kings 84/4, 12 overs; Hasan 4, Akmal 2: Riders have put Rajshahi in further enigma, for they take 2 more wickets. Two new batsmen at the crease: Hasan and Akmal. It is time they fire on all cylinders now. They need to reach at least 140 to stay alive in the tournament.

  • 2:01 PM IST

    Live – Rajshahi Kings 57/2, 8 overs; Siddique 14, Patel 4: Too boring! With Sammy and Hasan yet to bat, they still have been on the defensive. Not that the track has been on the slower side, but there seems to be no intent.

  • 1:40 PM IST

    Live – Rajshahi Kings 35/1, 4 overs; Rahman 16, Siddique 14: Rajshahi are going at a decent rate. They need to make sure they keep wickets in hand and go all guns blazing once they get their eye in. For that matter, they have a star-studded batting line-up. Hence, they should not waste time anymore and take the bull by its horns.

  • 12:52 PM IST

    Toss: Rangpur Riders win toss, elect to field

Darren Sammy © Getty Images
Darren Sammy will look to lead Rajshahi Kings to a win © Getty Images

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live cricket blog and updates’ post of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016 match between Rangpur Riders and Rajshahi Kings. This will be the 25th match in the ongoing T20 league, and will be played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. It will be a no-brainer in saying that Rangpur Riders will be the red-hot favourites for a victory in this match against the Rajshahi Kings, since they have been the most dominating team in the ongoing BPL 2016 tournament so far. With more than half of the tournament being played, the Rangpur Riders can actually be considered as one of the favourites to win this edition of BPL.

The Rangpur Riders have won 5 out 6 matches and lost 1 so far, and they sit pretty at the top spot in the BPL 2016 points table with a Net Run Rate of +0.757. The Rangpur Riders have 10 points, but since they have played a game less than the Khulna Titans, they are at the top spot. In the upcoming match of the BPL, the Rangpur Riders will take on Rajshahi Kings, a team that is there on the second last position in the points table. Rajshshi Kings will be led by two-time T20 World Cup winning captain Darren Sammy, while Naeem Islam will led Rangpur Riders, who has done a good job in the tournament so far.

The Kings have some really talented players in their side. They have Sabbir Rahman, Umar Akmal, Mehedi Hasan and Mominul Haque to name a few. Rangpur Riders on the other hand have Mohammad Shahzad, Sohag Gazi, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain and Richard Gleeson, who are some of the star players. The BPL 2016 is now reaching its business end, where very win and every point is of great importance.

These two teams will meet once again in the competition in Dhaka on November 28, which will be Match 31 of the competition.


Rajshshi Kings: Darren Sammy(c), Mominul Haque, Junaid Siddique, Sabbir Rahman, Umar Akmal(w), Samit Patel, Mehedi Hasan, Farhad Reza, Raqibul Hasan, Abul Hasan, Ebadat Hossain, Mohammad Sami, Nazmul Islam, Nurul Hasan, Rony Talukdar, Salman Hossain, Milinda Siriwardana, Upul Tharanga, Delwar Hossain, Kesrick Williams

Rangpur Riders: Naeem Islam(c), Mohammad Shahzad(w), Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Liam Dawson, Shahid Afridi, Ziaur Rahman, Sohag Gazi, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Anwar Ali, Elias Sunny, Babar Azam, Richard Gleeson, Mehrab Hossain, Muktar Ali, Nasir Jamshed, Pinak Ghosh, Gidron Pope, Gihan Rupasinghe, Sachithra Senanayake, Shahbaz Chouhan, Dasun Shanaka, Sharjeel Khan, Jupiter Ghosh