Ashok Dinda of Bengal rattled the Karnataka batting with an excellent opening spell © IANS
Ashok Dinda of Bengal rattled the Karnataka batting with an excellent opening spell © IANS

Dec 14, 2014

(The second round of Ranji Trophy 2014-15 commences on Sunday. Catch the live updates of Day 1 of all matches here)

Score updates:

Bengal vs Karnataka at Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Bengal skipper Laxmi Ratan Shukla won the toss and invited Karnataka to bat first.

Karnataka 237/7

[Sudip Chatterjee talks with CricketCountry about his performance, Wriddhiman Saha’s innings at Adelaide and many more. Read the full interview here.]

Assam vs Jharkhand at Guwahati

Jharkhand captain Saurav Tiwary won the toss and elected to field

Assam 133/6

Odisha vs Gujarat at DRIEMS Ground, Cuttack

Gujarat captain Parthiv Patel won the toss and elected to field first

Odisha 219/8

Tamil Nadu vs Jammu and Kashmir at NPR College Ground, Dindigul

R Prasanna of Tamil Nadu won the toss and decided to bat first

Tamil Nadu 254, J & K 28/3

[Adil Reshi of J & K talks with CricketCountry about his team’s historic win. Read full interview here.]

Vidarbha vs Punjab at VCA Stadium, Nagpur

S Badrinath of Vidarbha won the Toss and elected to field first.

Punjab 195

Hyderabad vs Goa at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Swapnil Asnodkar of Goa won the toss and elected to field first.

Hyderabad 289/1

Andhra vs Kerala  at Dr P.V.G. Raju ACA Sports Complex, Vizianagaram

Mohammad Kaif of Andhra won the toss and asked Kerala to bat first

Kerala 207/7

Madhya Pradesh vs Uttar Pradesh Holkar Stadium, Indore

UP skipper Piyush Chawla  won the toss and decide to field first

MP 195/7

Railways vs Mumbai at Karnail Singh Stadium, New Delhi

Surya Kumar Yadav of Mumbai won the toss and invited Railways to bat first. The match had a delayed start.

Railways 25/2

[Play has been called off for the day]

Rajasthan vs Saurashtra at SMS Stadium, Jaipur

Rajasthan skipper Pankaj Singh won the toss and decided to field first. This match was started after a long delay.

Saurashtra 5/0

Haryana vs Maharashtra at Chaudhry Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Lahli

H Motwani of Maharashtra won the toss and chose to field first. Another match which had delayed start.

Maharashtra 41/2

Services vs Tripura at Airforce Complex ground, Palam, New Delhi

Yashpal Singh of Services won the toss and asked Tripura to bat first but the match has not started yet, due to wet outfield.

Tripura 0/0

Tweets of the day:









Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the first day’s play in the second round matches of the Ranji Trophy 2014-15.

In Group A, Mumbai face Railways at Delhi, hoping to make up for the shock defeat at the hands of Jammu and Kashmir in the first round. The second encounter of the group will be contested between Bengal and Karnataka at Kolkata, with the latter having won their opening encounter against Tamil Nadu. The remaining encounters of the group are Tamil Nadu versus Jammu and Kashmir at Dindigul and Madhya Pradesh versus Uttar Pradesh at Indore.

In Group B, Haryana and Maharashtra face off at Rohtak. Odisha and Gujarat battle it out at Cuttack. Saurashtra will look to recover from the nine-wicket defeat inflicted on them by Delhi and hope for a win against Rajasthan at Jaipur. The last encounter of the group is between Vidharba and Punjab at Nagpur. The Yuvraj Singh-led Punjab will look to maintain their winning ways after their 120-run win against Haryana in the first round.

Group C will see Andhra and Kerala clash at Vizianagaram, Assam versus Jharkhand at Guwahati, Hyderabad versus Goa at the former’s backyard and Services versus Tripura at Delhi.