Manoj Tiwary was the lone bright spot in the Bengal batting order as he top-scored for his side with a fighting 63 from 78 balls © PTI
Manoj Tiwary was the lone bright spot in the Bengal batting order as he top-scored for his side with a fighting 63 from 78 balls © PTI

Dec 30, 2014

(The fourth round of Ranji Trophy 2014-15 has commenced. Catch the live updates of Day 2 of all matches here)

Scores at Stumps on Day 2:

Group A:

Bengal vs Mumbai at Eden Gardens, Kolkata:

Mumbai 414, Bengal 210 and 116/0

Madhya Pradesh vs Baroda at Captain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior:

Baroda 358, Madhya Pradesh 178 and 41/1

Tamil Nadu vs Railways at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai:

Tamil Nadu 213, Railways 43/3

Uttar Pradesh vs Jammu and Kashmir at Green Park, Kanpur:

Uttar Pradesh 267/5

Group B:

Delhi vs Gujarat at Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi:

Delhi 425/6 decl. Gujarat 150 and 81/4

Haryana vs Odisha at CH Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Lahli, Rohtak:

Haryana 127 and 95/7, Odisha 232/9 decl.

Rajasthan vs Vidarbha at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur:

Vidarbha 296 and 250/3, Rajasthan 188

Saurashtra vs Punjab at Saurashtra Cricket Association, Rajkot:

Punjab 659/7 decl. Saurashtra 254/1

Group C:

Hyderabad vs Services, at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad:

Services 306 and 32/2, Hyderabad 338.

Jharkhand vs Kerala at Jawahar Lal Stadium, Dhanbad:

Jharkhand 337 and 26/0, Kerala 383.

Assam vs Himachal Pradesh at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati:

Himachal Pradesh 549/4 decl., Assam 199/6

Tripura vs Goa at Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium, Agartala:

Goa 251 and 97/5, Tripura 265.

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of the third day of the fourth round of Ranji Trophy 2014-15. At stumps on Day Two, Group A saw Bengal wobbling at a score of 130 for the loss of six wickets, trailing Mumbai‘s hard-fought total of 414 by 284 runs. Shardul Thakur led blitzkrieg on the Bengal batsmen, collecting five wickets while conceding 37 runs. Shreyas Iyer had earlier top-scored for Mumbai with a knock of 153. In the second game at Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh dismissed Baroda for a score of 358, with Saurabh Wakaskar missing out on a century by six runs.

In Group B, Delhi were on top during their encounter against Gujarat, with Unmukt Chand and Virender Sehwag putting up identical scores of 105 to guide their side to 425 for six, before skipper Gautam Gambhir decided to declare the innings. Gujarat were 34 for one at stumps, trailing by 391 runs. Odisha were leading Haryana by 105 runs runs after reaching a score of 232 for nine, having dismissed Haryana for a paltry 127 earlier in the game. Jayant Yadav was the standout bowler for Haryana, taking six wickets for 91 runs.

Vidarbha were bundled out for 296 in their encounter against Rajasthan, but managed to end the day on a high and a substantial lead as they bowled their opponents out for a sub-par total of 188. Ravikumar Thakur was the ‘destroyer-in-chief’ of the Rajasthan innings as he took five wickets for 50 runs. The fourth game of the group saw Punjab dominate Saurashtra with the bat as they declared on a mammoth score of 659 for seven, with Mandeep Singh (235), Yuvraj Singh (182) and Gurkeerat Singh (101) scoring centuries for Punjab. Saurashtra played 10 overs, adding 27 runs to their tally at stumps.

In Group C, Hyderabad were going strong at a score of 210 for three, trailing Services by 96 runs after having dismissed the opposition for 306. Deepak Punia and Soumik Chatterjee top-scored for Services with identical knocks of 70. Hanuman Vihari led the counter-attack for Hyderabad with a fluent unbeaten 114 from 214 balls. Jharkhand were dismissed for 337, but ended the day with a positive prospect as they reduced Kerala to 179 for five. Himachal Pradesh were all over Assam as they declared on a score of 549 for the loss of four wickets. Paras Dogra and Ankush Bains top-scored for Himachal with scores of 230 and 156 respectively.