Yuvraj Singh's 56 was not enough for Punjab as Odisha won by six wickets ○ Getty Images (File Photo)
Yuvraj Singh’s 56 was not enough for Punjab as Odisha won by six wickets ○ Getty Images (File Photo)

Batting against Uttar Pradesh at Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore, on Day Two in the eighth round of Ranji Trophy 2014-15, KL Rahul became the first Karnataka batsman to score a Ranji Trophy triple-hundred. Rahul reached the landmark with 42 fours and three sixes. He had found some support in Robin Uthappa, but the Karnataka scorecard made a sorry reading at 148 for four.

Rahul finally found support in Shreyas Gopal, who helped him put up 181. CM Gautam followed Gopal at the crease and helped put up another 52. Before today Gautam had been the holder for the third-highest score for Karnataka with 264 not out against Madhya Pradesh in 2004-05. The top two names on the list were those of Barrington Rowland (283 vs Bengal in 1990-91) and Arjun Raja (267 vs Maharashtra in 2012-13).

Rahul eventually registered the triple-hundred in the company of Abrar Kazi. It was also the second triple-hundred by any batsman against Uttar Pradesh (erstwhile United Provinces) following Kedar Jadhav’s 327 in 2012-13.

Score Updates on Day 3

Group A

Bengal vs Railways at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata: Railways 302 vs Bengal 268 & 187 for 5

Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore: Karnataka 719 for 9 & 8 for 0 vs UP 220

Baroda vs Mumbai at Motibag Cricket Ground in Baroda: Baroda 184 & 67 for 2 vs Mumbai 287 and 304 for 9 decl

Madhya Pradesh vs Jammu and Kashmir at Holkar Stadium in Indore: Jammu and Kashmir 177 & 97 vs MP 371. MP win by an innings and 97 runs.

Group B

Vidarbha vs Delhi at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur: Delhi 154 and 123 vs Vidarbha 370. Vidarbha win by an innings and 93 runs.

Haryana vs Rajasthan at Chaudhry Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium in Lahli: Rajasthan 180 & 74 vs Haryana 373. Haryana win by an innings and 119 runs.

Gujarat vs Maharashtra at Sardar Patel Stadium in Valsad: Maharashtra 262 & 131 for 0 vs Gujarat 429

Punjab vs Odisha at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali: Punjab 167 & 141 vs Odisha 183 & 127 for 4. Odisha won by six wickets.

Group C

Tripura versus Himachal Pradesh at MBB Stadium in Agartala: Tripura 346 & 20 for 0 vs Himachal 535 for 5 decl

Assam vs Andhra at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati: Assam 312 vs Andhra 137 & 116 for 6

Goa vs Jharkhand at Goa Cricket Association Academy in Porvorim: Goa 215 & 160 for 5 vs Jharkhand 385

Kerala vs Services at Thalassery Cricket Stadium in Thalassery: Services 318 & 122 for 6 vs Kerala 483