Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the Group B game of 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Uttar Pradesh and Railways at Ghaziabad. Railways have been off to a terrible start, losing both their matches and currently languishing at the bottom of Group B with no point from 2 matches. Uttar Pradesh, on the other hand, have played a match less: their only encounter, against Madhya Pradesh on a flat track at Moradabad, was a draw so high-scoring that only 14 wickets fell in the match, and the first two innings were not completed. Both sides had to be content with a point apiece.

Live Cricket Score Railways 255/2 | Overs 68.3 | Batting: A R B Singh 100(181), Prashant Awasthi 23(43): An excellent century for opener A R B Singh and his 180-ball innings is inclusive of two sixes and 11 fours. Kuleep Yadav is the only bowler who has struck for Uttar Pradesh today, his latest wicket was of Faiz Ahmad who was well set and the duo looked untroubled before Yadav removed Ahmad for 74 from 102 balls in the 56th over. OUT! Faiz Ahmad c S N Khan b Kuldeep Yadav 74(102)

Live Cricket Score Railways 81/1 | Overs 27 | Batting: A R B Singh 30(79), Faiz Ahmad 4(3): Kuldeep Yadav draws firts blood, removes opener Saurabh for a 80-ball 43, just when both the opners were looking good and had settled well for the visitors. The debutant Faiz Ahmad has entered the field now, joining Singh on the crease. It will be interesting to watch how the younster will fair against the likes of Praveen Kumar and Piyush Chawla. OUT! Saurabh b Kuldeep Yadav 43(80)

Live Cricket Score Railways 37/0 | Overs 10 | Batting: Saurabh 19(34), A R B Singh 18(26): AFter losing to Punjab in the opening match of Ranji Trophy 2015-16, Railways’ campaign turned horid when they faced a defeat against Baroda by an innings and 113 runs which gave their opponenets a hefty seven points. Mahesh Rawat’s side will hope to change tables around and earn points in round three. However, it will not be an easy job since Praveen Kumar’s side has been impressive in the tournamnet so far.

Railways are no longer the force they used to be at the turn of the millennium. They received a hammering against Punjab at Mohali, who piled up a humongous 604 for 5 (four men scored hundreds) before Siddarth Kaul, Brainder Sran, and Varun Khanna bowled Punjab to a win by an innings and 126 runs. Railways had their moments when Saurabh Wakaskar (69) and Ashish Singh (90) added 150 for the opening stand in the first innings, but from there they were bowled out for 196. Arindam Ghosh (98) was the only one to put up some resistance in the second innings.

TOSS: Uttar Pradesh have won the toss and will be fielding against Railways.

The all-round skills of Hardik Pandya (5 for 61, 64, and 3 for 30) were sufficient for Baroda to triumph over Railways by an innings and 113 runs. A lot was expected of Karn Sharma, who went wicketless but scored 51 in each innings. Anureet Singh, with 5 for 111, put on a face-saving effort. A lot will depend on Anureet and Karn if Railways want to get off the mark on the points tally.

Almas Shaukat, Mohammad Saif, and Sarfaraz Khan all slammed hundreds as Uttar Pradesh slammed 686 for 7, but Madhya Pradesh responded with 528 for 7 with Ankit Rajpoot and Kuldeep Yadav sharing all wickets. The duo will be looking for support from their teammates, especially veterans like Praveen Kumar and Piyush Chawla, if they want to bag full points.


Uttar Pradesh: Praveen Kumar (c), Piyush Chawla, Sarfaraz Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Akshdeep Nath, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Saif, Ankit Rajpoot, Umang Sharma, Eklavya Dwivedi, Himanshu Asnora, Israr Azim, Saurabh Kumar, Tanmay Srivastava, Deependra Pandey, Almas Shaukat.

Railways: Mahesh Rawat (c&wk), Saurabh Wakaskar,  Arindam Ghosh, Ranjeet Mali, Karn Sharma, Prashant Awasthi, Krishnakant Upadhyay, Arnab Arun Nandi, Rohan Bhosale, Anureet Singh, Hitesh Kadam.