Live Updates

  • 4:49 PM IST

    Tamil Nadu win: Tamil Nadu have won their 5th title. They have beaten Bengal by 37 runs. Dinesh Karthik was excellent with the bat. Despite Chatterjee and Majumdar’s effort with the bat, Bengal could not chase a modest total of 218 down. Aswin Crist, Mohammed Mohammed and Rahil Shah picked up 2 wickets apiece to help Tamil Nadu win.

  • 4:02 PM IST

    Bengal struggling: Bengal need close to run-a-ball from here. Chaterjee and Majumdar put up 50 for the fifth wicket so far. Tamil Nadu bowlers have bowled extremely well so far and they need to keep this up. Chatterjee in the mean time has gone past fifty and it has taken him just 64 balls to get there, but Majumdar has been dismissed for 24. Bengal 135/5 in 36 overs.

  • 3:10 PM IST

    Skipper departs: Manoj Tiwary completely misses a pull shot and the ball crashes into his stumps. This is a big wicket for Tamil Nadu. Sudip Chatterjee and Anustup Majumdar will now have to rescue Bengal. If they bat at the rest of the overs, Bengal should win, but they are soon falling short of wickets. Bengal 75/4 in 24 overs, chasing 218

  • 2:22 PM IST

    TN on the charge: The in form Shreevats Goswami too has been dismissed. Sudip Chatterjee comes out to the crease to join his skipper Manoj Tiwary. These two have to take Bengal closer to a win. Both have been in good form. Tamil Nadu on the other hand will have their tail up and will believe that they can still go ahead and win this match. Bengal are 37/3 in 13 overs.

  • 1:56 PM IST

    An interesting observation

  • 1:52 PM IST

    Bengal lose quick wickets: Bengal have lost the wicket of Abhimanyu Easwaran and Agniv Pan cheaply. Tamil Nadu are well on top at the moment. It is now up to Shreevats Goswami and skipper Manoj Tiwary to resurrect their innings. Tamil Nadu are well on top at the moment and they will hope to keep picking up wickets at regular intervals here. Bengal are 7/2 in 6 overs, chasing 218.

  • 12:54 PM IST

    Karthik hit wicket: Karthik’s brilliant innings comes to an end for a brilliant 112. He was the last man to be dismissed, out hit wicket. Tamil Nadu as a result have set Bengal a target of 218. Karthink’s timely knock has given Tamil Nadu something to bowl at. Bengal have a great chance to go on and win the match and take the title.

  • 12:02 PM IST

    TN riding on Karthik’s brilliance: Dinesh Karthik is perhaps the only player so far, who has looked totally in control of the situation. He needs support from the other end. Karthik is now into the 80s and is looking to get into three figures. TN will be dependent on karthik to get them a good score to defend. Washington Sundar, who got off to a good start, is now back in the pavilion for 22. Tamil Nadu 180/6 in 36 overs.

  • 11:24 AM IST

    Bengal break partnership: Partnership between Karthik and Indrajith has come to an end after a brilliant 85-run stand. Indrajith was run out at the non-strikers’ end in a bizarre fashion. Karthik hit the ball back past the bowler, deflected off Indrajith. Indrajith not knowing where the ball was fell short of his crease. Karthik has gone past fifty and looks hungry to get a big score today. Indrajith contributed 32 off 49 balls in the partnership. Tamil Nadu 138/5 in 29 overs.

  • 10:44 AM IST

    Karthik Tamil Nadu’s hope: Karthik has played brilliantly well so far. He is scoring at over 100 strike rate and will look to score a substantial score on the board. Baba Indrajith on the other end is happy to give Karthik as much strike as possible. However, Bengal still remain on top after the first 20 overs of the match. Tamil Nadu 85/4 in 20 overs, Karthik 38* Baba Indrajith 14*

  • 10:16 AM IST

    Skipper dismissed: Dinda has picked up his third wicket of the innings. He has gotten rid of skipper Vijay Shakar cheaply. Bengal have been dominant in this opening stages of the match. Dinesh Karthik has looked solid so far and he is joined by Baba Indrajith, who has to contribute as well. Tamil Nadu, 56/4 in 14 overs.

  • 9:50 AM IST

    Bengal continue to dominate: Shami and Dinda get one more wicket apiece. Dinda first removed Kaushik Gandhi and then Shami trapped Baba Aparajith in front in his very first over. Tamil Nadu are in a spot of bother and will need their skipper Vijay Shankar and their best batsman Dinesh Karthik to come good. As of now, Bengal are right on top at the moment. Tamil Nadu 47/3 in 10 overs.

  • 9:26 AM IST

    Early breakthrough: Ashko Dinda has gotten Bengal their early breakthrough. Ganga Raju, looking to guide the ball over the wicketkeepers’ head, but finds the edge on its way to hands of Shreevats Goswami. This is the ideal start for Bengal and they will look to get a few more wickets. Tamil Nadu will have to ensure that they do not lose wickets in a hurry. Tamil Nadu 17/1 in 5 overs, Kaushik Gandhi and Baba Aparajith at the crease.

  • 8:53 AM IST

    Mohammed Shami is back in the plying XI in a major boost to Bengal.

  • 8:52 AM IST

    TOSS : Tamil Nadu win toss, elect to bat.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog and updates from the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2016-17 between Bengal and Tamil Nadu. The final match will be played at the Feroz Shah Kolta ground in Delhi. This match calls curtains to 28-side tournament that started on February 25. Bengal have been ably led by Manoj Tiwary, while Tamil Nadu have been steered well by Vijay Shankar. Bengal will be aiming for their second Vijay Hazare Trophy title, while Tamil Nadu would be eyeing their fifth. Tamil Nadu had also won the inaugural title, after change in format since the 2002-03 season.

Bengal overcame MS Dhoni-led Jharkhand in their semi-final clash at Delhi. Bengal openers Shreevats Goswami and Abhimanyu Eashwaran struck hundreds that saw their side end up with a mammoth score of 329 for 4. The pair added 198 runs for the first wicket. It was Manoj Tiwary, who added 75 runs off 49 balls providing late order fireworks. Jharkhand were never in the game, as they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. It was only Dhoni who resisted the inevitable.

In the other semi-final between Tamil Nadu and Baroda, out of favour batsman Dinesh Karthik guided his team to a memorable win. Chasing 220 runs to qualify for the finale, Karthik struck partnerships with Baba Aparjith and Vijay Shankar, making a fine 107-ball 77, while Shankar remained not out on 53 to guide his team a 6-wicket win. For Baroda it was only Kedar Devdhar and Aditya Waghmode who made runs, missing fifties by 4 and 5 runs respectively.


Bengal: Manoj Tiwary (c), Shreevats Goswami (wk), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Agniv Pan, Sudip Chatterjee, Anustup Majumdar, Kanishk Seth, Aamir Gani, Sayan Ghosh, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Mukesh Kumar, Ishan Porel, Debabrata Das, Abhishek Raman, Pankaj Shaw, Writtick Chatterjee, Pramod Chandila, Saurabh Singh, Mohammed Shami

Tamil Nadu : Vijay Shankar (c), Antony Dhas, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Ramalingam Rohit, Baba Indrajith, Ganga Sridhar Raju, Baba Aparajith, Washington Sundar, Kaushik Gandhi, Rahil Shah, N Jagadeesan, Murugan Ashwin, Aswin Crist, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, M Mohammed, S Radhakrishnan