Australia will hope for David Warner to continue in his good form © Getty Images
Australia will hope for David Warner to continue in his good form © Getty Images

Jan 18, 2015

India will take on Australia at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday in the second match of the 2015 tri-series, which also involves England. The first match was played between arch-rivals Australia and England at Sydney on Friday, where the hosts were overwhelming favourites to win, and they lived up to the expectation.

The India-Australia encounter is likely to be more evenly contested, but Australia will still go in as favourites making the cut due to home advantage and their recent domination over India in the Test series. But India can’t be taken lightly; they’re the reigning champions in the 50-over format with the ICC World Cup 2011 as well as the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 titles under their belts.

Australia were expectedly displayed dominance over England in the first match. David Warner carried his form into match, adding yet another international century to his repertoire. Mitchell Starc was the star-performer with the ball taking four wickets for 42 runs. He wrecked havoc in the England top-order.

India have been in solid form in ODIs themselves, beating West Indies, England, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka over the past year. Virat Kohli was in tremendous form during the recently concluded Test-series, and India will hope that his runs will continue to flow in the ODI series. Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma are affluent with runs in the ODI format as well.

While, India boasts a strong batting line-up, the bowling remains a bit of a concern in overseas conditions. Bowlers like Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami have performed decently in the ODI format but are yet to be tested in Australian conditions.


India: MS Dhoni (c&wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu,  Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohit Sharma.

Australia: George Bailey (c), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steven Smith, Brad Haddin (wk), James Faulkner, Glenn Maxwell, Xavier Doherty, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Gurinder Sandhu, Kane Richardson.

Time: 08:50 IST | 03:20 GMT

Catch Live Blog of the match here

Catch Live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary of the match here

Catch Free Live Streaming Australia vs India, 2nd ODI