Live Updates

  • 9:57 PM IST

    That is it! Rain cuts short Day 3. See you tomorrow!

  • 8:15 PM IST

    50 for ABD! He continues to be South Africa’s champion batsman.

  • 8:07 PM IST

  • 8:05 PM IST

  • 8:04 PM IST

  • 8:03 PM IST

  • 7:57 PM IST

    Match resumes and India squander. Parthiv blames Pujara, at first slip, for not having a go at it. It was, in the end, a wicketkeeper’s catch. Elgar survives. Bumrah looks vivid.

  • 7:17 PM IST

    The clouds have cleared up. Groundsmen head to the ground.

  • 6:50 PM IST

    Rain stops play. Virat Kohli would have a wry smile on his face. The moisture may as well help the seamers once the game resumes.

  • 6:48 PM IST

    India’s energy has dropped as ABD and Elgar continue frustrating them.

Virat Kohli is eyeing his 21st Test century © AFP
Virat Kohli is eyeing his 21st Test century © AFP

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of the second Test between India and South Africa at Centurion. I am Kaustubh S. Mayekar, and will bring all the live updates of the third day’s play.

After bundling South Africa for 335, India stutter at 183 for 5 thanks to Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 85. The second-highest score of an otherwise ordinary batting performance is Murali Vijay’s 46. Barring Vernon Philander, all bowlers scalped a wicket apiece.

Luckily for India, Hardik Pandya is still at the crease. He has scored 11 off 29 including two delightful fours. With him showing intent and Kohli already set, India would expect a significant partnership from the duo. Given Ravichandran Ashwin is the only batter left in the ammunition, Kohli and Pandya will have to do bulk of the work.

With the track getting dustier, South Africa will use the services of Keshav Maharaj in the first session. In addition, new ball is due in 19 overs. India will have to add as many runs before South Africa get a fresh cherry to hunt India down.

Here are the brief scores:

South Africa 335 all-out (Aiden Markram 94, Hashim Amla 82, Faf du Plessis 63; Ravichandran Ashwin 4 for 113, Ishant Sharma 3 for 46) lead India 183 for 5 (Murali Vijay 46, Virat Kohli 85*; Lungisani Ngidi 1 for 26, Morne Morkel 1 for 47) by 152 runs.

Editorial team of CricketCountry.