Gambhir's KKR have a 7-4 advantage over SRH © BCCI
Gambhir’s KKR have a 7-4 advantage over SRH © BCCI

The home ground for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) — M Chinnaswamy Stadium serves as the Elimination Chamber for Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) will lock horns for this contest and the winner will play Mumbai Indians (MI) at the same venue on Friday. It will be a clash of two similar feisty southpaws — David Warner and Gautam Gambhir, who have had good time as leaders and batsmen in IPL. However, there is a chance that weather will have the last laugh. I am Suvajit Mustafi and will bring you live updates from his contest. Full Cricket Scorecard: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), IPL 2017, Eliminator at Bengaluru

The incessant rain at Bengaluru may play the spoilsport and if there is no play because of that, SRH will go through to the Qualifier 2 as they finished with a point for the KKR in the league stages. There is no reserve day. It will be a shame if that happens because not only we will be deprived of quality cricket but also it will also be unfair on KKR and their fans. KKR have won the tournament twice.

Head-to-head, KKR have 7-4 advantage and in this edition, both sides have won their home contest against each other. They started well this season and lost their sheen midway. However, both teams take pride in their batting and bowling armoury.

KKR have experimented a bit too much with their top-order before settling for Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine. With Gambhir and Robin Uthappa pushed in the middle-order, the roles of Manish Pandey and Yusuf Pathan have been restricted to being the finishers. SRH meanwhile will be sweating over Yuvraj Singh’s fitness and the pick between Mohammad Nabi and Kane Williamson.

Unavailability of players at the business end too has hurt several teams. KKR is certainly one. Nathan Coulter-Nile is injured and the Knights have lost Chris Woakes and Shakib Al Hasan to national duties. For SRH camp, they have lost Ashish Nehra to injury and Mustafizur Rahman to national duty.

SRH have Bhuvneshwar Kumar leading the pace battalion while his national teammate Umesh Yadav will lead the KKR attack alongside Trent Boult, who has played the last two seasons for SRH. Let us pray to the rain gods to not intervene in what is expected to be cracker of a contest.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Manish Pandey, Umesh Yadav, Sunil Narine, Chris Woakes, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Darren Bravo, Ishank Jaggi, Chris Lynn, Colin de Grandhomme, Trent Boult, Rishi Dhawan, Sheldon Jackson, Ankit Rajpoot, Sayan Ghosh, Rovman Powell, Ramsingh Sanjay Yadav.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Yuvraj Singh, Deepak Hooda, Naman Ojha (wk), Ben Cutting, Bipul Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Ashish Nehra, Ricky Bhui, Kane Williamson, Siddarth Kaul, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Barinder Sran, Vijay Shankar, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Nabi, Eklavya Dwivedi, Pravin Tambe, Ben Laughlin, Tanmay Agarwal, Mohammed Siraj.

Live Updates

  • 1:44 AM IST

    Nathan Coulter-Nile is the Man of the Match. A good comeback for him. He praises Umesh for holding things up at the start. So, it will be MI-KKR at the same venue on Friday.

  • 1:36 AM IST
    Food for thought

  • 1:36 AM IST

    Warner says they were 30 runs short and it was a difficult wicket to bat on. Warner like a true gentleman thanks all the people of Hyderabad for the support. Hope he continues to lead SRH in the future. Tough luck.

  • 1:34 AM IST

    That is the end of SRH’s IPL 2017 campaign. The defending champions bow out. There will be no Warner and no Bhuvi in IPL 2017. They entertained all of us. Unfortunate way for exit but that is fine…

  • 1:28 AM IST

    That is it. Gambhir has done it for KKR. KKR have made it to the Qualifier 2 too.

  • 1:27 AM IST

    Bipul Sharma to bowl the final over. KKR need 2 from it. Gambhir gets a single.

  • 1:25 AM IST

    Rashid Khan to bowl his 2nd over. Gambhir goes inside-out and it’s two. Next ball another googly beats KKR’s skipper. 5 from the Rashid over. Meanwhile, SRK remains tensed.

  • 1:23 AM IST

    1 4 6 1 1 and 1 — 14 from the Kaul over. KKR need 7 from 2 overs. What a cameo from Gambhir? Captain bats with full responsibility here.

  • 1:21 AM IST

    Siddarth Kaul attempts a knuckle ball to Gambhir. You cannot bowl width to Gambhir. He launches one and it’s four over backward point. Next ball is SIX, a short ball and Gambhir is at it. What a player! Meanwhile, Shahrukh Khan continues to look tensed.

  • 1:17 AM IST
    Another few wickets and KKR will miss Manish Pandey today.

  • 1:15 AM IST

    Two singles of Rashid’s first two deliveries before Gambhir launches a lovely cover drive. Shankar makes a good attempt and saves 2 runs for his side. Rashid bowls a ripper of a googly and deceives Gambhir and follows it with 2 wides. Beautifully bowled googly again. A dot. Gambhir fails to get one past point. Whew. Only 6 from the Rashid over, two of them were wide.

  • 1:12 AM IST
    Congrats, Gambhir. Meanwhile it is Rashid Khan to bowl. The Powerplay is over. KKR has no need to panic. It is pressure on SRH at the moment.

  • 1:10 AM IST

    Gambhir attempts a hook, gets a top-edge and KKR run a quick single. Smart batting from Gambhir.

  • 1:07 AM IST

    Probably that is due to the fact to prevent rain…

  • 1:06 AM IST

    Gambhir starts the first ball with a dot and ends the over with a slash for FOUR. KKR are 11/2 after 1st over. Chris Jordan starts with a wide and next ball, Uthappa departs trying to clear deep square leg. Dhawan takes a simple catch.

    OUT! Robin Uthappa c Shikhar Dhawan b Chris Jordan 1 (2)
  • 1:02 AM IST

    Next ball. Yusuf is run out. Brilliant stuff from Bhuvi. He plays and misses, goes for a quick single. There was no run there. He departs after a one-ball duck.

    OUT! Yusuf Pathan run out (Bhuvneshwar Kumar) 0 (1)
  • 1:00 AM IST

    Bhuvi gets the third ball to swing outside and Lynn plays and misses. Ojha takes a the catch. Third umpire is referred. And Lynn gets an edge, confirms 3rd Umpire. Brilliant stuff. KKR are one done.

    OUT! Chris Lynn c Naman Ojha b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 6 (2)
  • 12:58 AM IST

    Lynn slashes it over point. Bengaluru will witness some Lynn-sanity. They saw it a couple of days back when he scored a fifty at this venue. He starts with a six.

  • 12:56 AM IST

    Change at the top. It is Uthappa and Lynn to start. Bhuvi to start. Uthappa drives and gets a quick single. The ground is wet.

  • 12:51 AM IST

    One bowler can bowl 2 overs, rest can bowl an over each. There are 2 overs of Powerplay.

  • 12:45 AM IST

    The umpires have confirmed that the match will start in 10 minutes i.e. 12.55 am. It will be a six-over game and KKR need 48 to win.

  • 12:27 AM IST

    Moody and Warner are inspecting the pitch and ground. These are happy scenes. No rain. Super-sopper at work. The covers are coming off. There will be a curtailed game.

  • 12:26 AM IST

    Is it a wise idea to keep the game on hold for so long. Can’t the match resume the next day in the morning just like it happened during the World Cup 1999? Is it fair on the kids?

  • 11:36 PM IST

    It is still raining… If you get past 11.52 pm then that rules out a 20-over game.

  • 11:10 PM IST
    Good news… Oh no. Covers are coming back. The drizzle is back.

  • 11:09 PM IST

  • 10:58 PM IST

  • 10:23 PM IST
    Update here:

  • 10:21 PM IST

  • 10:21 PM IST