Live Score CLT20: Mumbai Indians vs New South Wales Blues

New South Wales Blues will be wary of Mumbai Indians’ firepower AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Chennai: Oct 2, 2011

Steven Smith remained unbeaten on 45 and Ben Rohrer scored 26 not out as New South Wales beat Mumbai Indians by five wickets in their low-scoring Champions League T20 match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Smith and Rohrer added 73 runs for the sixth wicket and bailed NSW Blues out of trouble.

Smith hit five boundaries and a six in his innings of 45 not out. Rohrer hit just one four in his knock of 26 off 28 balls.

Abu Nechim Ahmed led Mumbai Indians fightback after they were restricted to 100 by the New South Wales.

Chasing a modest total of 101 to win, New South Wales Blues struggled at the start and stumbled to 28 for five in the seventh over.

Abu Nechim struck in his very first over to remove the dangerous opener Shane Watson for three. David Warner, who tried to keep off the pressure from the NSW Blues, hit two consecutive boundaries in the same over. But Warner s blitz came to an end when he was caught by Harbhajan Singh at the short extra cover for 12 off four balls.

In his third over, Abu Nechim scalped the wicket of David Smith, to give Mumbai Indians the much needed momentum.

Earlier, Stuart Clarke and Steve O Keefe claimed two wickets each as New South Wales Blues restricted Mumbai Indians to 100 for seven in their Champions League match.

Clarke rocked the Mumbai Indians early in the first over dismissing opener Aiden Blizzard for one. The right-arm seamer then struck in his next over scalping the key wicket of Ambati Rayudu.

Kieron Pollard failed to rescue the Mumbai Indians when he was bowled by 18-year-old pacer Pat Cummins for eight.

Mumbai Indians failed to build partnership in the middle and kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

James Franklin was the lone fighter from their side scoring 42 not out off 51 balls with the help of five boundaries.

Brief Scores: MI 100 for 7 in 20 overs (James Franklin 42*, Harbhajan Singh 15; Stuart Clarke 2 for 15, Steve O’Keefe 2 for 18, Patrick Cummins 1 for 13) lost to NSW Blues 101 for 5 in 17 overs (Steven Smith 45*, Ben Rohrer 26*; Abu Nechim Ahmed 3 for 23, Yuzvendra Chahal 1 for 17) by 5 wickets.

Man of the Match: Steven Smith

Full Scorecard