Live Score CLT20 semi-final: Mumbai Indians vs Somerset

Mumbai Indians will look to make their first Champions League T20 final when they take on Somerset in the second semi-final at Chennai AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Chennai: Oct 8, 2011

Mumbai, face off against the English Friends Provident T20 Championship finalists Somerset in the second semi-final of the Champions League T20 at Chennai on Saturday. Mumbai have been severely weakened with a host of regular players, Sachin Tendulkar, Munaf Patel and Rohit Sharma amongst others missing while Somerset are without their regular skipper Marcus Trescothick. The winner of the game will play Bangalore who pipped New South Wales on their way to the final with an incredible chase.

The Mumbai have played their last two games on the slow pitch at the M.A Chidambaram stadium and they would have acclimatised themselves to the conditions while this will be Somerset’s first match at the stadium. Somerset have played all their games at either Deccan or Bangalore and will need to adapt quickly or else will find themselves boarding a plane back home.

Mumbai have had to rely heavily on their foreign players especially after losing many domestic players to injury, but the form of Andrew Symonds and Kieron Pollard will be a concern for the Harbhajan Singh led side. Pollard has failed to light up the tournament barring his half century against Cape Cobras, but he add balance to the team with his ability to be effective with the bat, ball or on the field.

For Somerset, skipper Alfonso Thomas and Roelof wan der Merwe have been in great form. The latter has been key to their title charge contributing heavily with both bat and ball. Murali Kartik too has been a vital cog in Somerset’s engine bringing in invaluable experience of playing on sub-continent tracks to help his team out.


Mumbai (From): Harbhajan Singh(c), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Aiden Blizzard, James Franklin, Lasith Malinga, Ambati Rayudu(w), Tirumalsetti Suman, Abu Nechim, Andrew Symonds, Rajagopal Sathish, Dilhara Fernando, Sarul Kanwar

Somerset (From): Alfonso Thomas(c), Alex Barrow, Jos Buttler, Nick Compton, Adam Dibble, George Dockrell, Lewis Gregory, James Hildreth, Chris Jones, Murali Kartik, Craig Kieswetter (w), Steve Kirby, Steve Snell, Arul Suppiah, Peter Trego, Roelof van der Merwe

Catch Live score here