Kemar Roach © Getty Images
Kemar Roach © Getty Images

Dec 17, 2014

The West Indies won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat in the first Test at SuperSport Park on Wednesday. Rain delayed the toss and start of play by half an hour and play was due to start in heavily overcast conditions. Catch Live streaming of the match at

South Africa opted to play four specialist fast bowlers and no spinner, with Kyle Abbott playing ahead of left-arm spinner Robin Peterson. Left-handed batsman Stiaan van Zyl was a new cap for South Africa. The West Indies included left-arm spinner Suleiman Benn and picked three fast bowlers – Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor and Sheldon Cottrell, AFP reported.


South Africa: Hashim Amla (c), Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Stiaan van Zyl, Quinton de Kock (wk), Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Kyle Abbott, Morne Morkel.

West Indies: Denesh Ramdin (c & wk), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devon Smith, Leon Johnson, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Sheldon Cottrell.

Catch live blog of the match here

Catch live scorecard of the match here