Ola! Welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of 17th edition of Allan Border Medal. The Australian cricket fraternity has gathered for a lovely evening at the Crown Palladium. The AB Medal is the highest Australian award in cricket and along with that crown, the best One-Day International (ODI), Test and domestic cricket player of the year will be given out. Australian skipper Steven Smith was awarded the AB medal last year. However, along with him the other strong contenders for the award are David Warner and ICC Cricket World Cup 2015’s player of the series, Mitchell Starc. The llater was the highest wicket-taker of the mega event last year, while Warner has been in terrific form across formats for more than a year now. 

BIG NEWS: Australia vice-captain David Warner has been awarded with the Test Player of the Year, and he has also been honoured with the Allan Border Medal!

Jeff Thompson too has been inducted in the Australian Hall of Fame!

Ellyse Perry has been honoured with the Belinda Clark award.

Wally Grout, who played 51 Tests for Australia from 1957-1966, has been inducted in the Hall of Fame.

Australian national team’s allrounder Ellyse Perry bagged the Belinda Clark’s award! Meanwhile, Adam Voges was named the domestic player of the year. 

The ODI Player of the Year goes to GLENN MAXWELL! Maxwell has averaged close to 50 in ODI cricket in past one year, and to see him winning this award is not surprising at all. 



An excited David Warner Tweets: Our table looks best on ground so far.


Our table looks best on ground so far. @mitchmarsh235 @peternevill @joeburns441 @isabelleplatt #allsmiles

A photo posted by David Warner (@davidwarner31) on


The Australian cricketers slowly walk in one by one. The known faces so far at the hall are Australian skipper Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Usman Khawaja, James Pattinson, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell and many others. 

Oh, Michael Clarke, you’re missed all this while in the Australian camp!


Australia’s Test openers David Warner and Joe Burns seemed to be enjoying their partnership. They come together at the function:



Meanwhile, in women’s camp, the Belinda Clark award will be presented. This year, teammate and skipper Meg Lanning and talented allrounder Ellyse Perry are expected to give her some competition. Lanning is also the highest run-getter of last season for Australia.

Here is the list of awards to be presented today: The Allan Border Medal, Belinda Clark Award, Test Player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year, Domestic Player of the Year, Bradman Cricketer of the Year

Previous AB Medal winners:

2000: Glenn McGrath

2001: Steve Waugh

2002: Matthew Hayden

2003: Adam Gilchrist

2004: Ricky Ponting

2005: Michael Clarke

2006: Ricky Ponting

2007: Ricky Ponting

2008: Brett Lee

2009: Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke

2010: Shane Watson

2011: Shane Watson

2012: Michael Clarke

2013: Michael Clarke

2014: Mitchell Johnson

2015: Steve Smith