Welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the inaugural players’ auction in the Masters Champions League (MCL). It is set to begin in Dubai in a couple of hours. The auction will go for almost the entire day. Around 250 players will be auctioned for an about 90 places in the six sides scheduled to take part in the tournament. Some of cricket’s biggest names will be present alongside the six team owners to take part in the first-ever historic player auction in MCL. Earlier, 12 marquee players were confirmed. The list was inclusive of some big names like Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Graeme Smith and Mahela Jayawardene.

West Indian T20 bowling specialist Krishmar Santokie bought by Capri Commanders for USD 35,000. Ben Laughlin from Australia picked by Capri Commanders for USD 57,000. Ashish Bagai and Rizwan Cheema from Canada found bids from Gemini Arabians and and Capri Commanders respectively. Bagai was auctioned off for 10,000 USD while Cheema got 16,000 USD for his services.

Team Virgo signed Pakistan’s Hasan Raza for USD 20,000. Team Sagittarius purchased the services of Englishman Michael Carberry for USD 42,000. South African opener Richard Levi attracted bids from multiple quarters and was ultimately acquired by Gemini Arabians for a staggering USD 152,000, significantly more than Brad Hodge.

Zimbabwe-born Lancashire mainstay bowler Kyle Jarvis was picked by Team Leo of USD 28,000. At age of just 26 years, he is definitely one of the youngest players in the tournament and in light of that he was acquired at a real steal. Team Leo strengthened their bowling strength by purchasing former-India spinner Ramesh Powar for USD 40,000. Team Virgo added to their spin reserves with addition of England’s Gareth Batty to their stocks for USD 20,000.

England all-rounder Rikki Clarke was picked by Capri Commanders for USD 42,000. Australian batting all-rounder Marcus North found favour with Libra Legends with a USD 30,000 bid.

There were extreme spectrum of bids for batsmen. Taufeeq Umar and Alviro Petersen attracted modest bids of USD 28,000 by Libra Legends and Team Sagittarius respectively. On the other hand Brad Hodge attracted an impressive USD 120,000 bid by Gemini Arabians and Englishman Michael Lumb went to Libra Legends for USD 118,000.

In the spin department, New Zealander Jeetan Patel found a top bidder in Capri Commanders for USD 56,000. South African Paul Harris was purchased by Gemini Arabians for USD 20,000. Team Virgo bagged the services of Indian Murali Kartik for USD 52,000. The same team also shelled out USD 35,000 for the services of Sri Lanka’s Malinga Bhandara. Sagittarius bought themselves the services of Australian tweaker Nathan Hauritz for USD 20,000.

West Indian bowler Tino Best was purchased by Sagittarius for USD 42,000. Aussie speedster Shaun Tait known for his wild pace got a bid of USD 60,000 from the Libra Legends. Ryan Sidebottom famously known for his role in England’s WT20 2010 win, got sold for USD 32,000 to Libra Legends.

South African all-rounder Ryan McLaren bought by Capri Commanders for USD 64,000 while Zimbabwean all-rounder Sean Ervine was lapped up by Libra Legends for an impressive 60,000 USD. Gemini than bagged the services of retired South African all-rounder Justin Kemp for USD 68,000.


Rana Naved-ul-Hasan–Gemini Arabians

Ryan Mclaren– Capricorns Commanders

Sean Ervine– Team Libra

Justin Kemp– Gemini Arabians

Now batsmen of Category A:

Hamish Marshall– Team Leo

Jacques Rudolph– Gemini Arabians

Owais Shah– Team Sagittarius

James Foster–Team Virgo

Ajay Ratra–Team Libra

Chris Read–Team Libra

Phil Mustard– Team Sagittarius

It’s time for the Associate members to go under the hammer. Here are the results so far:

Khurram Khan–Team Sagittarius

John Mooney–Team Virgo

Dirk Nannes–Team Virgo

Mohammad Tauqir–Team Leo

Neil Carter–Team Leo

Ryan ten Doeschate–Team Libra

Hamish Marshall–Team Leo

Here is the latest update from Team Capricorn:



Category A+ auction conclude. Here are players and their new franchises:

Jhonty Rhodes– Team Virgo

Herschelle Gibbs– Team Leo

Brendan Taylor– Team Leo

Andrew Symonds– Team Capricorn

Kyle Mills– Gemini Arabians

Saqlain Mushtaq– Gemini Arabians

Brad Hogg– Team Libra

Chamara– Team Capricorn

Neil McKenzie– Team Virgo

Ashwell Prince–Team Capricorn

Upul Chandana–Team Capricorn

Johan Botha–Team Leo

Robin Peterson–Team Leo

Fidel Edwards–Team Leo

Shane Bond–Team Sagittarius




  • Jhonty Rhodes is picked by Team Virgo, while Herschelle Gibbs is taken by Team Leo!








  • The first icon Paul Collingwood SOLD to Team Capricorn for $140,000!





  • While Legends Kumar Sangakkara and Virender Sehwag go to Team Gemini, Sourav Ganguly and Graeme Swann are taken by Team Libra.


Former English skipper Michael Vaughan shares a picture of his Team Capricorn on Instagram. His side’s management features Bollywood actor Sohail Khan:


Here goes @mcl2020uae #AuctionTime

A photo posted by Michael vaughan (@mvaughan40) on


Meanwhile, Swann’s Team Libra!


Meet Graeme Smith’s MCL team!



Welcome to the #MCLAuction, Team Leo! pic.twitter.com/VoA0s1oEdd



The six sides will be named after following six sun signs: Libra, Leo, Saggitarius, Capricorn, Virgo and Gemini.

According to MCL s official Twitter account, each Franchise has a total purse of $750,000 that they can spend in the auction for players & must spend at least $550,000. Each team have already purchased two legends at a combined cost of $100,000. Franchises will not be able to make a bid for a player that would take them beyond this total purse. Players in the auction will be arranged into different sets according to their categories.

The categories are as follows: Legends, Icons, A+, A and Associate country players.

1) Players with 100 International caps or more (Category A+) will start at a price of $30,000.

2) The base price of the ‘Icons’ is $100,000.

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” lang=”en”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>Now on to the all-rounders in Category A. <a href=”https://twitter.com/hashtag/MCLAuction?src=hash”>#MCLAuction</a></p>&mdash; MCL 2020 (@MCL2020UAE) <a href=”https://twitter.com/MCL2020UAE/status/673832062470656001″>December 7, 2015</a></blockquote><script async src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js” charset=”utf-8″></script>