Lockie Ferguson broke Bangladesh's top-order's backbone with two quick wickets    Getty Images
Lockie Ferguson removed Bangladesh’s top-order’ batsmen with two quick wickets Getty Images

In the first T20I of the three-match series between New Zealand and Bangladesh, pacer Lockie Ferguson opened his account in style by grabbing two scalps of his first two balls. Bangladesh opted to bat in the series opener. They got off to a precarious start but it was Ferguson’s twin blows which dented their innings further. Kane Williamson introduced Ferguson in the 6th over. The move paid rich dividends as the Ferguson removed Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar with the first two balls of his T20I career. Though Mahmudullah saved the hat-trick, Ferguson joined an elite list of bowlers with first-ball-wicket in T20Is.

Bowler Batsman Team Opposition Venue Season Notes
Michael Kasprowicz Stephen Fleming Australia New Zealand Eden Park 2004-05 had Matthew Sinclair off second ball
Ajit Agarkar Herschelle Gibbs India South Africa New Wanderers 2006-07
Alfonso Thomas Imran Nazir South Africa Pakistan New Wanderers 2006-07
Shaun Tait Jamie How Australia New Zealand WACA 2007-08
Rory Kleinveldt Junaid Siddique South Africa Bangladesh New Wanderers 2008-09
Pragyan Ojha Shakib Al Hasan India Bangladesh Trent Bridge 2009
Joe Denly Graeme Smith England South Africa Centurion 2009-10
Virat Kohli Kevin Pietersen India England Old Trafford 2011 0th ball
Nadeem Ahmed Subash Khakurel Hong Kong Nepal Chittagong 2013-14 Same match
Paras Khadka Irfan Ahmed Nepal Hong Kong Chittagong 2013-14
Willie Gavera Niall O’Brien PNG Ireland Belfast 2015 had Kevin O’Brien off third ball
Ajay Lalcheta Nizakat Khan Oman Hong Kong Abu Dhabi 2015-16
Aamer Yamin Jason Roy Pakistan England Sharjah 2015-16
Lockie Ferguson Sabbir Rahman New Zealand Bangladesh Napier 2016-17 had Soumya Sarkar off second ball

Michael Kasprowicz is the only bowler to take two wickets off his first two deliveries in the format. Thus, Ferguson also matched Kasper apart from joining a list comprising of Shaun Tait, Nepal’s legendary player Paras Khadka, Pragyan Ojha and Virat Kohli.

Surprisingly, Kohli features in this list as well (apart from entering various illustrious batting lists recently). He took the wicket of England’s Kevin Pietersen on his very first ball. The first ball was adjudged a wide but India s poster boy got rewarded in the very next delivery to send Pietersen packing.

Ferguson made his debut along with Tom Bruce and Ben Wheeler in the ongoing clash and has started off on a positive note. Interestingly, he also made a memorable debut in 50-over format where he dismissed David Warner with the sixth ball of his career, in the recently-concluded Chappell-Hadlee Trophy in December 2016.