Manish Pandey (l) and Dinesh Karthik added __ runs     Getty Images
Manish Pandey (l) and Dinesh Karthik added 68 runs Getty Images

India won their second game of the Nidahas Trophy 2018, beating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets. It was Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik, who steered India’s ship on top of the table. It was a combined effort from Indian bowlers that restricted hosts to 152. With this win, India have 4 points 3 games, with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh following them.

Visitor’s were off to a poor start. They lost Rohit Sharma early-on; a norm in this series. Sharma was picked by Akila Dananjaya. Dananjaya picked his second wicket soon, Shikhar Dhawan, the man in form, lost his wicket trying to heave Dananjaya over mid wicket. He fell for a 10-ball 8.

It was then that KL Rahul and Raina took charge. The pair slowly and steadily accumulated runs to bring India back into the chase. Raina in particular adopted his aggressive approach. During his knock of 27, Raina slammed 2 fours and 2 sixes. He also surpassed MS Dhoni’s tally of 1,444 T20I runs. Raina had a soft dismissal chipping a simple catch to Thisara Perera off Nuwan Pradeep.

Rahul, who came in for Rishabh Pant, looked nervous yet played a sensible knock. Sadly, he created an unwanted Indian record to become the first batsman to get out hit-wicket in a T20I. Jeevan Mendis after picking Rahul s wicket went off the field due to nurse an injury.

Pandey batted quite sensibly to anchor India’s innings. He along with Dinesh Karthik took India to safety. They hardly dropped a sweat in the middle during their 68-run stand for the fifth wicket.ets

Sri Lanka batting first managed 152 for 9, thanks to Kusal Mendis s blitz. He scored a 38-ball 55, that included 3 fours and as many sixes. For India, Shardul Thakur picked 4 wickets to down Sri Lanka’s march. Washington Sundar picked two crucial wickets.

Brief scores

Sri Lanka 152 for 9 in 20 overs (Kusal Mendis 55, Upul Tharanga 22, Dasun Shanaka 19; Shardul Thakur 4 for 27, Washington Sundar 2 for 22) lost to India 153 for 4 (Manish Pandey 42*, Dinesh Karthik 39*; Akila Dananjaya 2 for 19) by 6 wickets.

Full Scorecard