Mohammad top-scored for Rangpur Riders    AFP (File Photo)
Mohammad top-scored for Rangpur Riders with 80 off 52 AFP (File Photo)

Rangpur Riders thrash Chittagong Vikings by 9 wickets in Match 4 of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, Match 4 at Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka. With this win they have registered their first win of this edition of the tournament. Needing just 125 to win the match, openers Mohammad Shahzad and Soumya Sarkar provided the Vikings with an ideal start. They scored at a brilliant pace and immediately put the opposition on the back foot. Shahzad was given a life when he was dropped by England international Tymal Mills, which was a regulation catch. From there, the Afghanistan opening batsman went from strength to strength and never looked like giving his wicket away. He was ably supported by Sarkar at the other end. Full Cricket Update, Chittagong Vikings vs Rangpur Riders, BPL 2016, Match 4 at Dhaka

Riders ensured that they got at least one boundary right from the beginning along with a single or two and that was enough as the required run rate was just a little over a run-a-ball. Vikings never seemed to be in the game as the Riders brought up their fifty in the seventh over. However, Riders lost Sarkar caught behind for 23 and the score read 77 for 1 after 10 overs. Mohammad Mithun then joined Shahzad, who had his eye set on yet another T20 fifty. Shahzad reached his fifty off just 41 deliveries and Mithun too looked comfortable at the crease. he eventually finished with a 52-ball 80.

Earlier, Chittagong Vikings were bowled out for just 124 in 19.4 overs. Shoaib Malik top-scored with 30, followed by Anamul Haque for 25. Vikings got off to a good start, but despite having a good run rate in the initial stages, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals, which cut the run flow. As far as the bowlers are concerned, Sohag Gazi and Richard Gleeson finished with a couple of wickets apiece.

It was Rangpur Riders, who had won the toss and elected to bowl first. This was their first match of the tournament, while Vikings have already won their only match of the tournament.

Brief Scores:

Chittagong Vikings 124 in 19.4 overs (Anamul Haque 25, Shoaib Malik 30; Sohag Gazi 2 for 18, Richard Gleeson 2 for 30) lost to Rangpur Riders 125 for 1 in 15 overs (Mohammad Shahzad 80*, Soumya Sarkar 23; Tymal Mills 1 for 30) by 9 wickets

Man of the match: Mohammad Shahzad