Glenn Maxwell © PTI
Glenn Maxwell © PTI


May 14, 2014


Glenn Maxwell and Manan Vohra surge ahead after Wriddhiman Saha’s dismissal for Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in their match against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 match. Dale Steyn came on to try and stem the flow of runs. He started relatively well, going for just four off the first three balls of the over till Vohra pulled him away for another six. Maxwell was hit on the shoulder with a sharp bounder from Steyn, but survived the over unscathed.


Karn Sharma got rid of Wriddhiman Saha off the very first delivery of the eighth over. Saha advanced down the track, but missed the ball entirely and was stumped in the process. He was out for a very well-made 54 off just 26 balls. That brought in Glenn Maxwell. He faced a dot ball to start with, but followed it up with a six over midwicket. He followed it up with an even bigger six. After being beaten, he went on to hit another six off the last ball to make it 18 runs off the over.


Amit Mishra came on to bowl after the strategic time out. He bowled a few googlies at the start, and restricted the batsmen. He conceded just five off the first five ball, but Vohra was able to sweep him for another boundary off the last ball to make it nine runs off the overs.


Earlier, Wriddhiman Saha and Manan Vohra were looking good. Henriques came back to bowl his second over, and Manan got a boundary off the first ball. He got an outside edge through third man. He followed up with another boundary down the ground to race away to 28 off just 10 balls. Saha then smashed another six over point off a slower ball. He got to his fifty off the next ball with a four through midwicket.


Karn Sharma was brought in to bowl the fifth over. He bowled well, giving just two off his first three deliveries. Even Vohra got a single off the fourth delivery before Saha moved down the ground to drive him for four over covers. Karn dragged the last ball short, but Saha managed to pull that away to the boundary as well.


After Virender Sehwag got out early, Saha and Vohra took the attack to the bowlers with some very brave batting. Even Bhuvneshwar was not spared, as he was taken for 15 runs off his second over. Dale Steyn came in to bowl the secondover. Vohra defended the first ball, but then took on Steyn off the next ball. He hooked the ball, but didn’t quite get it off the middle. The batsmen took three for it. Saha then drove Steyn over covers for a couple of runs before whipping him through square leg for four. Vohra pulled the final delivery of the over for a six, as the pair took 16 runs off the over.


Bhuvneshwar Kumar came on to bowl the first over innings, and Virender Sehwag started off in trademark fashion by hitting the ball down the ground for a boundary. Kumar got his revenge off the very next delivery when Sehwag tried to hit another boundary only to get caught by Kumar off his own bowling. Wriddhiman Saha came out to join Manan Vohra in the middle.


Earlier, Naman Ojha, David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan put in a power-packed performance after KXIP won the toss and elected to field first. Young right-handed batsman Manan Vohra was included at the cost of Mandeep Singh, while off-spinner Shivam Sharma came in to replace medium-fast bowler Parvinder Awana. SRH came in with the same team.


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule &Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage