MI vs CSK, IPL 2019 final: Rohit Sharma becomes first player to win five IPL trophies

Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to their record fourth IPL title on Sunday in Hyderabad.

Mumbai Indians most IPL trophies

Mumbai Indians beat CSK by one run to claim their record fourth IPL title. © BCCI

Related articles

Rohit Sharma on Sunday became the most successful player in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL) when he led Mumbai Indians to their record fourth championship as they beat defending champions Chennai Super Kings by one run in Hyderabad in the IPL 2019 final.

This gave Rohit his fifth IPL title which is the most for any player in the league’s 12-year existence.

The only other players to have been part of four successful IPL seasons are Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh and Ambati Rayudu.

Yusuf won the inaugural IPL in 2008 with Rajasthan Royals, in 2012 and 2014 with Kolkata Knight Riders and in 2016 with Sunrisers Hyderabad. Harbhajan won the IPL three times with Mumbai Indians and last year won with CSK. Rayudu has the same record as Harbhajan: thrice with MI and once with CSK.

Rohit Sharma most IPL titles in IPL history Mumbai Indians
Rohit Sharma on Sunday won his fifth IPL title, the most for any player. © BCCI

In 2009, Rohit won his first IPL trophy with Deccan Chargers in the season in which he won the Emerging Player Award. After shifting to MI in 2011, he led the franchise to the IPL title in 2013, 2015, 2017 and now 2019.

(READ: Mumbai Indians’ youngsters cherish yet another triumphant season)

With MI winning the 2019 IPL, Rohit has become the only player with five IPL trophies to his name. And he is the only man to lead a franchise to four IPL trophies.

This is MI’s fourth IPL trophy, which is also the most for any franchise. CSK and MI had four IPL title wins before heading into IPL 2019.


trending this week