MI vs SRH LIVE: Powerplay update – Mumbai Indians lose Rohit Sharma in breezy start vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock were off to solid start after Mumbai Indians opted to bat first against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Match 51 of IPL 2019 at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, helping their team to 44/1 in the Powerplay overs; but the MI captain was caught at mid-on for 24 off the bowling off Khaleel in the sixth over.

Rohit started off with two fours in the first over bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar with Basil Thampi, playing his first this season in place of Sandeep Sharma, misfielding to allow Rohit his first four. Khaleel Ahmed was tonked for three fours in the over by Rohit before Mohammad Nabi sent down a tidy third over,giving away just four runs.

With de Kock got going taking Bhuvneshwar for two fours. With MI off a to flyer, SRH skipper Kane Williamson was forced to bring in Rashid Khan early and he gave away just one run in his first over.

In the final over of the powerplay, Khaleel got the big wicket of Rohit when the opener spliced one to mid-on fielder Mohammad Nabi. Suryakumar Yadav got hismelf two boundaries to end the Powerplay overs.


Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in Match 51 of IPL 2019 at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Thursday.

Martin Guptill comes in for David Warner and Basil Thampi gets his first game of the season in place of Sandeep Sharma while MI are unchanged.


Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Wriddhiman Saha(w), Martin Guptill, Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson(c), Mohammad Nabi, Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, Basil Thampi

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Barinder Sran, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga