Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur and Ekta Bisht    Getty Images
From left: Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur and Ekta Bisht Getty Images

With a view to enhance women s cricket and bring greater equity to the men s game, ICC introduced Women s ODI Team of the Year and T20I Teams of the Year. Of Indians, Ekta Bisht was included in both squads, Mithali Raj made it to the ODI team and Harmanpreet Kaur to the T20I squad. The selection has been made with consideration to the performance from September 2016 till date.

Ekta ranks 14th in ODIs and 12th in T20Is. Since 2016, she has scalped 34 wickets from 19 ODIs and 11 from 7 T20Is. Mithali, on the other hand, went past Meg Lanning to claim the No. 1 ODI spot. Harmanpreet led India to the Asia Cup title last year.

Heather Knight has been named captain of the ODI XI while Stafanie Taylor will lead the T20I XI. England are the defending World Cup Champions while West Indies hold the title for World T20.


ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year: Heather Knight (c) (England), Sarah Taylor (wk) (England), Tammy Beaumont (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Mithali Raj (India), Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry, (Australia), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Ekta Bisht (India), Alex Hartley (England).

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year: Stafanie Taylor (c) (West Indies), Beth Mooney (wk) (Australia), Danielle Wyatt (England), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Australia), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Ekta Bisht (India).