Mohammad Nabi was the star of the Chittagong Vikings bowling attack    Getty Images (File Photo)
Mohammad Nabi was the star of the Chittagong Vikings bowling attack Getty Images (File Photo)

Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi came up with a stellar performance with the ball initially, as he claimed three crucial top-order wickets in order to break the backbone of the Barisal Bulls batting, while he also allowed Chittagong Vikings to notch up an impressive 78-run win over Barisal, in Match 24 of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Tuesday. Enamul Haque of Barisal remained unbeaten on 42, while Nabi was the star of the Chittagong bowling attack, as the teams finished their Chittagong leg campaign. Full Cricket Score, BB vs CK, BPL 2016, Match 24 at Chittagong

Earlier, Chittagong skipper Tamim Iqbal won the toss, and elected to bat first, as they posted a challenging total of 185 for the loss of five wickets in the allotted 20 overs, courtesy of Dwayne Smith’s 69, and Shoaib Malik’s 63, while Kamrul Islam, and Thisara Perera claimed a couple of wickets each. As for Barisal, they were off to a worst possible start, as they lost their opening wicket in the form of Dawid Malan, who fell for mere five to Nabi in the second over. Just five runs later, he was followed by his fellow opener in the form of Nadif Chowdhury for mere four in the same over.

At the score of 11, it was Shahriar Nafees, who fell for a mere single to Subashis Roy, in the third over. Just a run later, it was Jeevan Mendis, who too fell for a mere single to Nabi again in the next over. It was followed by a brief 25-run stand between skipper Mushfiqur Rahim, and Rayad Emrit, before Rahim fell for mere 19 to Taskin Ahmed in the seventh over, as the score read 37 for the loss of five wickets.

At the same score, it was Thisara Perera, who fell for an unfortunate duck to Malik, the very next over. A couple of runs later, it was Emrit, who fell for mere six to Taskin in the ninth over. Nevertheless, it was followed by a steady 42-run stand between Enamul and Taijul Islam, before Taijul was dismissed for mere 12 to Suibhashis in the 14th over, at the score of 81.

Just 13 runs later, it was Abu Hider Rony, who fell for mere nine to Imran Khan Jr. in the 17th over, while the final wicket to fall was in the form of Kamrul Islam, who was unfortunately run out for mere four, as Chittagong notched up an impressive 78-run win over Barisal within 19 overs, while Enamul remained unbeaten on a healthy 42.

Brief scores:

Chittagong Vikings 185 for 5 in 20 overs (Dwayne Smith 69, Shoaib Malik 63; Kamrul Islam 2 for 29, Thisara Perera 2 for 37) beat Barisal Bulls 107 in 18.4 overs (Enamul Haque 42*; Mohammad Nabi 3 for 16) by 78 runs.

Full Updates

(Ayush Gupta is a reporter at CricketCountry. A passionate supporter of Manchester United, he idolises Roger Federer and is also a World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) maniac. He can be followed on Twitter @Ayush24x7)