Mohammed Siraj Confirmed As Jasprit Bumrah’s Replacement For T20I Series Against South Africa
Jasprit Bumrah (Image Source: Twitter)

New Delhi: The BCCI has confirmed Mohammed Siraj as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement for the T20I series against South Africa. Bumrah was ruled out of the series after suffering a back stress fracture.

Meanwhile, drafting Siraj back in the team is a big hint that the pacer might also replace Jasprit Bumrah in the T20 World Cup squad. Though an official confirmation from the BCCI is pending, as per reports, Bumrah is likely to miss the marquee event in Australia as he will need around 4-6 months to recover.

While Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar have been named as standby players for the ICC T20 World Cup, the teams can tweak their squad before October 9.

Bumrah’s loss is a massive setback to India as the Indian bowling has looked venom-less, especially in death overs in his absence. Bumrah missed the Asia Cup as well due to injury and the Indian bowling was hammered in the tournament.

Coming back to Siraj, he has only played five T20Is for India, with his last appearance coming against Sri Lanka in February earlier this year. He has taken five wickets in his short T20I career at an average of over 41.

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohd. Siraj