Suresh Raina has played for CSK in all the 8 editions of IPL © IANS
Suresh Raina has played for CSK in all the 8 editions of IPL © IANS

India’s One-Day International (ODI) captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Australian skipper Steven Smith, Shane Watson, New Zealand Captain Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee, West Indian Dwayne Bravo, along with the likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane and Ravichandran Ashwin will going under the hammer as the two newly announced Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises from Pune and Rajkot meet to pick their five each  marquee  players from the allotted  50-player draft. In the gone week, it was announced that Kolkata-based business tycoon Sanjiv Goenka’s group New Rising had won the bid for the Pune franchise  and Intex, smartphones manufacturer won the bid for Rajkot team via a reverse-bidding process. ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly: MS Dhoni’s fate in IPL 9 and 10 should be left to team owners

The two new teams from Pune and Rajkot will replace the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the Rajasthan Royals (RR), both have been banned from the tournament for the next two years.  Pune will have the first chance to pick a player as they were the lowest bidders (Rs -16 crore) in auction to bid for a franchise and, hence in all probability will go in for India’s wicket keeper-batsman Dhoni. Other captains in the foray are Australian skipper Smith,who recently defeated West Indies in the first Test at Hobart and New Zealand Captain McCullum who just yesterday won the first Test against Sri Lanka in a very convincingly manner. The battle to draft these captains is surely to heat up. ALSO READ: IPL 2016 new teams: Why Pune will bid first and not Rajkot

Both Pune and Rajkot franchises will have Rs.40 to Rs.66 crore in their kitty to spend and decide on who they want in their team. The players from CSK and RR will be segregated into two pools capped and uncapped. Each team can pick five players each. The first capped player for both teams will be at a price of Rs.12.5 crore and the remaining four will be picked up for Rs.9.5 crore, Rs.7.5 crore, Rs.5.5 crore and Rs.4 crore, respectively.

The ninth edition of the IPL is scheduled from April 9 to May 29, 2016.

Foreign Player in the draft :

Australia: Steven Smith, Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Micheal Hussey, Ben Cutting, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson

South Africa: Kyle Abbot, Faf Du Plessis, Christopher Morris, Juan Theron

West Indies: Dwayne Smith, Dwyane Bravo, Samuel Badree

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee, Matt Henry