MS Dhoni     Getty Images (File Photo)
MS Dhoni Getty Images (File Photo)

MS Dhoni completed his 300th ODI for India, in the second ODI against Australia at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. This is also his 303rd ODI overall (he had played 3 matches for Asia XI against Africa XI). He is only the sixth Indian to the 300-ODI landmark. Sachin Tendulkar lead the list with 463 ODIs, closely followed by Rahul Dravid (340). Mohammed Azharuddin and Sourav Ganguly take third and fourth spots with 334 and 308 ODIs respectively. Yuvraj Singh is just one ahead of Dhoni, at 301.

Player Span Mat Runs HS Ave
SR Tendulkar 1989-2012 463 18426 200* 44.83
R Dravid 1996-2011 340 10768 153 39.15
M Azharuddin 1985-2000 334 9378 153* 36.92
SC Ganguly 1992-2007 308 11221 183 40.95
Yuvraj Singh 2000-2017 301 8609 150 36.47
MS Dhoni 2004-2017 300* 9563 183* 51.97

Dhoni has led India to win titles such as World T20 (in 2007), Champions Trophy (2013) and the biggest of them all the World Cup (2011). Dhoni has scored 9,737 runs in 303 ODIs besides 4,876 runs in 90 Tests. He has also represented India in 78 T20 Internationals, scoring 1,212 runs. He also has 162 stumpings and 584 catches across formats.

It was only yesterday that Dhoni was nominated for Padma Bhushan India s third-highest civilian award. Dhoni will be the 11th cricketer and the first since Sachin Tendulkar if he gets the award. Dhoni has already received the Arjuna, Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna and the Padma Shri for his on-field laurels.