MS Dhoni equals Sourav Ganguly’s feat of 21 Test victories as captain

Another Test victory would make MS Dhoni the most successful Indian Test captain © IANS

Chennai: Feb 26, 2013

MS Dhoni on Tuesday equaled Sourav Ganguly’s feat of 21 Test victories as India captain after registering an eight-wicket win over Australia at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai.

Dhoni is now one of the most successful Test captains in terms of victories. Another Test win will take him past Ganguly’s record. The other captains in this list include Mohammad Azharuddin (14), Sunil Gavaskar (9) and Rahul Dravid (8).

MS Dhoni got his second Man of the Match award in Tests – both vs Australia – his first was at Mohali in 2008-09 for recording 92 & 68 not out.

Dhoni has not lost a single Test against Australia in India, winning all five contested by him as captain. India, for the first time, have won four consecutive Tests against Australia in India as reported by PTI.

Dhoni’s 21st Test victory as skipper was largely due to his double century along with a 12-wicket haul by Ravichandran Ashwin. With this victory India took a 1-0 lead over Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Captains Matches Won Lost
MS Dhoni 44 21 12
Sourav Ganguly 49 21 13
Mohammad Azharuddin 47 14 14
Sunil Gavaskar 47 9 8
Rahul Dravid 25 8 6