© Getty Images
© Getty Images

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have retained MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina for Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018. However, the franchise is yet to name the third player. The deadline to submit the list of retained players is January 4.

“We are retaining Dhoni and Raina, and the third we are contemplating,” a CSK official told The Indian Express.

There were speculations that Dhoni would be the obvious choice for retention. The franchise director George John, too, had confirmed the same, saying, “That’s an obvious one. We will have him [Dhoni] back as captain. For Dhoni it would be like returning home, 100 per cent. That’s what he also said during the TNPL.”

A franchise can retain a maximum of three capped Indian players, two overseas players, and two uncapped Indian players. Ahead of the auction, three of these players can be retained.

Suresh Raina last played for India was against England in a T20I in February 2017, while MS Dhoni continues being a vital part of India’s limited-overs.

After CSK was banned for two years, Raina captained Gujarat Lions, while Dhoni led Rising Pune Supergiant in 2016 and was replaced by Steven Smith at the helm in the next season.