Ajinkya Rahane is holidaying in    IANS
Ajinkya Rahane is holidaying in Seychelles IANS

As expected top Indian players will be giving the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2017-18 tournament a miss due to prior commitments. Mumbai, who are yet to play a match have left out Ajinkya Rahane from the 15-man squad who will take on Madhya Pradesh come October 17. Rahane informed about his unavailability to the selectors on October 9.

Mumbai’s chief selector, Ajit Agarkar confirmed the news to The Times of India, “He’s informed us that he’s unavailable for selection for this game.”According a source, Rahane’s decision to holiday in Seychelles and miss out on Ranji games has left MCA disappointed.

Apart from Rahane, Mumbai will be missing services of key players like Shreyas Iyer, Prithivi Shaw and Dhawal Kulkarni, all of whom are playing in for the Board President’s XI side against touring New Zealand on October 17 and 19.

Shardul Thakur is currently busy with India A’s series with New Zealand A.

“Frankly, the selectors were surprised, rather shocked and disappointed about it. They didn’t expect this from a dedicated player like him. India’s last ODI, against Australia, was on October 1. He was dropped for the ongoing T20 International series against Australia, and the first ODI against New Zealand is scheduled to be held in Mumbai on October 22,” the source added.

The MCA are also angered by losing their top players to BP XI side.”Is a warm-up game more important, or is the Ranji Trophy more significant? It looks like the premier domestic tournament may lose its sheen too,” explained a source.

Mumbai this season sees a new coach in Sameer Dighe. Aditya Tare will continue to lead the side.

In other news, the MCA have postponed their elections till Supreme Court verdict on Lodha recommendations is out on October 30.

Squad: Aditya Tare (c), Surya Kumar Yadav (vc), Abhishek Nayar, Akhil Herwadkar, Siddhesh Lad, Jay Bista, Sufiyan Shaikh, Vijay Gohil, Akash Parkar, Roystan Dias, Minad Manjrekar, Aditya Dhumal, Shivam Malhotra, Shubham Ranjane, Eknath Kerkar.