Live Updates

  • 11:47 PM IST

    THATS IT! Kedar Jadhav crosses the finishing line for Chennai. He scored 10 runs in the last over, needing 7 to win. Credit goes to Dwayne Bravo, he single-handedly took the match away from Mumbai’s grasp. This has been a superb opening match for Indian T20 league.

  • 11:42 PM IST

    OUT! Bravo is out. He falls for a blistering 68 run. Kedar Jadhav will come to bat, he will face Mustafizur Rahman.

  • 11:37 PM IST

    FIFTY! Dwayne Bravo reaches his fifty with a massive six. Bravo is making his bat talk. Bravo’s hitting sees Chennai need just 13 runs off 10 balls.

  • 11:30 PM IST

    OUT! Hardik Pandya gets his third wicket. Mark Wood falls for 1. Mumbai one wicket away from win. Remember Kedar Jadhav is retired hurt. Chennai still need 47 off 18.

  • 11:19 PM IST

    OUT! Another one bites the dust. Harbhajan Singh goes for the glory shot and hands to wicket to Mitchell McClenaghan. He made 8 off 5. Dwayne Bravo is still in the middle for Chennai.

  • 11:12 PM IST

    Mumbai vs Chennai, Updates: Chennai are in a spot of bother. Kedar Jadhav has left the field, a hamstring injury may be? Mayank Markande finishes his spell with 3 for 23 to his name. Harbhajan Singh and Dwayne Bravo are out in the middle for Chennai.

  • 11:04 PM IST

    Kedar Jadhav is walking off the field. Chennai’s woes goes from bad to worst.

  • 10:59 PM IST

    OUT! Ravindra Jadeja’s stay in the middle has ended. Mustafizur Rahman gets his first wicket for Mumbai. Jadeja tried to loft one over the off side, but handed a catch at mid off to Suryakumar Yadav. Chennai are in trouble now. Dwayne Bravo is the new man.

  • 10:55 PM IST

    Mumbai vs Chennai, Updates: Chennai now rely on Kedar Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja to get them near Mumbai’s target. Mustafizur Rahman has been called into the attack. He needs to find newer ways to get rid of the batsmen. To much reliance on the cutter-ball? This pitch is a death-bed for bowlers,nothing for them

  • 10:43 PM IST
MS Dhoni (L) and Rohit Sharma will lead Chennai and Mumbai respectively © BCCI
MS Dhoni (L) and Rohit Sharma will lead Chennai and Mumbai respectively © BCCI

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Indian T20 League 2018. Match 1 of the tournament sees defending (and three-time) champions Mumbai take on two-time champions Chennai at Wankhede Stadium. We will be bringing you the live updates, interesting tweets and stat facts from the cyberspace. Mumbai and Chennai are the two most successful franchises in the tournament. Mumbai have won the title thrice, all three under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. MS Dhoni’s Chennai have won the title twice and finished in the top four every season they have played in, which included six finals. However, there will be some rustiness as they are returning to the competition after two-year ban but they will not carry the scars into the proceedings.

Though Mumbai have retained their core, they have let go of many players and it will be a new look side in blue and gold at Wankhede today. Mustafizur Rahman is expected to debut for the side and Evin Lewis, too, is set for his debut in the tournament. Leg-spinner Rahul Chahar is set to take Harbhajan Singh’s place in the Mumbai XI. Harbhajan, after donning the Blues for 10 years, will be leading the spin attack of the Yellow Brigade in the opposition. Mumbai’s local lad, Shardul Thakur, too, will turn up in yellow at his home ground. Head-to-head, Mumbai enjoy a 13-11 lead over their arch-rivals.


Mumbai: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Pat Cummins, Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ben Cutting, Mustafizur Rahman, Rahul Chahar, Pradeep Sangwan, Mitchell McClenaghan, JP Duminy, Saurabh Tiwary, Tajinder Dhillon, Akila Dhananjaya, Nidheesh MD Dinesan, Aditya Tare, Siddhesh Dinesh Lad, Mayank Markande, Sharad Lumba, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan

Chennai: MS Dhoni (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Faf Du Plessis, Mark Wood, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Mitchell Santner, Lungisani Ngidi, Asif KM, N Jagadeesan, Kanishk Seth, Monu Singh, Dhruv Shorey, Kshitiz Sharma, Chaitanya Bishnoi

Editorial team of CricketCountry.