Mustafizur Rahman celebrating after a wicket ©AFP
Mustafizur Rahman celebrating after a wicket ©AFP

An all-round performance from the Bangladesh team helped them to win the third and final One-Day International (ODI) as well as the series against the visiting Zimbabwe team at Mirpur Wednesday. Bangladesh had already won the previous two matches of the three match ODI series and were looking for a clean sweep which they accomplished. Zimbabwe, on the other hand, failed to win a single contest and ended the series with a disappointing performance before they go into the two match Twenty20 International (T20I) series that follows. Live Score, Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2015, 3rd ODI at Mirpur: Bangladesh win match and series

In the third match, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat first. Both the openers, Imrul Kayes and Tamim Iqbal did justice to their captain’s decision as they provided their side a very stable start both scoring their 73 each. They took their time and left the Zimbabwe bowlers clueless. It was after the 27th over that Zimbabwe bowlers got their first breakthrough as Regis Chakabva stumped out both the openers one by one. After this, no one could perform upto that mark and left the crease early except Mahmudullah. He kept his cool and added an important 52 to their scorecard as Bangladesh put up a total of 276 to chase for Zimbabwe. Amongst the Zimbabwe bowkers, Luke Jongwe and Graeme Cremer were the most successful ones with a couple of wickets each.

In their batting innings, Zimbabwe’s poor batting performance continued as wickets kept on tumbling. The only two players who prominently helped the 215 that Zimbabwe put up were Sean Williams (64 off 84) and skipper Elton Chigumbura (45 off 47). Apart from the bizarre batting display, another factor that affected the Zimbabwe team’s game play was Chigumbura’s not so apt use of bowlers.

Amongst the Bangladeshi bowlers, it was Mustafizur Rahman who stole the show with his 5 for 34 while all the other bowlers, including skiper Mashrafe Mortaza, got a wicket each. Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal has been given the Man of the Match while Mushfiqur Rahim remained the Man of the Series.

With the 3-0 win over the visitors, the hosting Bangladesh team will enter the T20 competition brimming with confidence and would like to win it 2-0 while Zimbabwe would surely be disappointed after the back to back loses and like to get into the winning spirit with the 2-match scope.

Brief scores:

Bangladesh 276 for 9 (Imrul Kayes 73, Tamim Iqbal 73, Mahmudullah 52; Luke Jongwe 2 for 50) beat Zimbabwe ( Sean Williams 64, Elton Chigumbra 45, Mustafizur Rahman 5 for 34) by 61 runs

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Paulami Chakraborty, a singer, dancer, artist, and photographer, loves the madness of cricket and writes about the game. She can be followed on Twitter at @Polotwitts)