Muttiah Muralitharan inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The most successful bowler in Tests and One Day Internationals, Muttiah Muralitharan, was on Thursday formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame by ICC Chief Executive David Richardson during the innings break of the India versus Sri Lanka ICC Champions Trophy match at The Oval. The retired Sri Lanka spin great was awarded the honour along with Arthur Morris, George Lohmann and Karen Rolton by fellow ICC Cricket Hall of Famers and members of the media. He became the first player from Sri Lanka and the 83rd overall to be formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame when Mr. Richardson presented him with a commemorative framed cap. Muttiah Muralitharan to mentor TNPL team

Muralidaran: It is a moment of great pride and honour to be receiving this award, especially from the ICC which is the ultimate any cricketer can aspire to achieve. The induction during this prestigious ICC Champions Trophy makes it even more remarkable. I thank the ICC for making this possible because this is a moment I will cherish throughout life.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson: Murali s record speaks for itself. His control of line, pace and length coupled with his ability to spin the ball prodigiously are legendary. Once he developed the doosra he became almost unplayable. A character popular with fellow players and fans alike, he not only helped raise the profile of Sri Lankan cricket but was a player people came out to watch the world over. I congratulate him on behalf of the ICC on being inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame. Muttiah Muralitharan overwhelmed with Narendra Modi calling out his name

Muralidaran s career at a glance:

  • Muralidaran is the most successful Test bowler with 800 wickets in 133 matches
  • He has taken 67 five-wicket innings hauls and 22 10-wicket match hauls in Tests
  • He is also the most successful in ODI cricket with 534 wickets in 350 matches
  • He was a member of the squad that won the ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 and also of the one that shared the ICC Champions Trophy 2002 with India