Nehra may miss the World Cup final

Nehra ruled out of World Cup final

By CricketCountry Staff

 

Mumbai: Mar 31, 2011

 

Team India’s preparations for the World Cup final suffered a big blow when it was learnt that left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra may miss the marquee clash after he sustained a finger injury while fielding in their 29-run semifinal win over Pakistan at Mohali.

 

According to team sources, Nehra fractured his middle finger of the right hand when he made an unsuccessful attempt to catch Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi at deep mid-wicket in the semi-final game.

 

It may be mentioned here that Nehra, who was included in the playing eleven in place of Ravichandran Ashwin, bowled a frugal spell, taking two wickets for 33 runs off his stipulated 10 overs.

 

Pictures © Getty Images