Team Nepal © Getty Images
Team Nepal © Getty Images

The fixtures for ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 tournament was announced on Friday. Nepal will play the inaugural match of the tournament against Namibia at the WAP school in Windhoek on February 8. Nepal will be playing the very next day against Oman at the same venue. After a day’s break, Nepal will play UAE at Trustco United Club followed by a match against Kenya on February 12 at the Wanderers Cricket Ground.

Below is the Nepal schedule in ICC WCL Division 2 tournament:

Feb 8: Nepal vs Namibia

Feb 9: Nepal vs Oman

Feb 11: Nepal vs UAE

Feb 12: Nepal vs Kenya

Feb 14: Nepal vs Canada

Their final game will come against Canada. The Division 2 comprises of four teams, who were demoted from ICC WCL Championships – Nepal, Namibia, UAE and Kenya. Meanwhile, two teams from Division 3 have been promoted – Canada and Oman. It will be an opportunity for the top two teams from Division 2 to make their way to ICC World Cup qualifiers in Zimbabwe in March. These teams will join the likes of West Indies, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, PNG, Scotland, Hong Kong and Ireland.

This will be perfect opportunity for Nepal to make the most of the opportunity. They can not only make it to the final of WCL Division 2 tournament but also claim a spot in the World Cup Qualifiers considering the competition at the Qualifiers will be tough amidst the presence of big teams like West Indies, Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe.

For that to happen, Nepal will fine tune their performance by playing some friendly games against the local clubs in Dubai at ICC Global Cricket Academy.