Action from Netherlands' innings against Nepal on Wednesday. Photo Courtesy: Arunabha Sengupta
Action from Netherlands’ innings against Nepal on Wednesday. Photo Courtesy: Arunabha Sengupta

The first Twenty20 between Netherlands and Nepal featured a close contest, but despite fielding three new players, Netherlands thrashed their opponents by 103 runs their biggest win margin in any T20I in the following match in Amstelveen. Paras Khadka chose to field after winning the toss for Nepal, but the whatever game plan he had in mind didn’t work out effectively enough as Michael Swart and Ben Cooper smashed his bowlers, and Khadka himself, to put up a challenging score of 172, and then Netherlands’ bowlers shared wickets among them to get Nepal bowled out for 69. LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: Netherlands vs Nepal, 3rd T20I, Rotterdam

For the teams, the upcoming games in Rotterdam, on Wednesday and Thursday, will be their final opportunity to test themselves against a quality opposition in a Twenty20, as preparation for the World Twenty20 Qualifiers starting in Ireland and Scotland, from July 6 to 26. Netherlands lead the ongoing four-match series 2-0. LIVE CRICKET UPDATES: Netherlands vs Nepal, 3rd T20I, Rotterdam

Nepal’s team had been training, before landing in Europe, in Dharamsala in India, after earthquake prevented their training facilities at home to be in proper shape. The difference in conditions may be a factor in their lacklustre performance in this series so far, but Khadka, in an interview with CricketCountry, said he had no problems in adjusting to green tops. He will hope his team puts up a collective winning performance.


Netherlands: Peter Borren (c), Michael Swart, Tobias Visee, Ben Cooper, Wesley Barresi (wk), Mudassar Bukhari, Max O’Dowd, Paul van Meekeren, Michael Rippon, Thijs van Schelven, Ahsan Malik, Rahil Ahmed, Vivian Kingma, Pieter Seelaar, Timm van der Gugten, Stephan Myburgh, Roelof van der Merwe

Nepal: Paras Khadka (c), Gyanendra Malla, Binod Bhandari, Basant Regmi, Subash Khakurel (wk), Rajesh Pulami, Sharad Vesawkar, Pradeep Singh Airee, Sompal Kami, Avinash Karn, KC Karan, Siddhant Lohani, Jitendra Mukhiya, Sagar Pun, Anil Mandal

Live Scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary: Netherlands vs Nepal, 3rd T20I, Rotterdam