New Zealand opt to bowl in first T20 against South Africa at Wellington

New Zealand will aim to keep their winning momentum at home Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Wellington: Feb 17, 2012

New Zealand stand-in skipper Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to bowl against South Africa in their first Twenty20 international at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Friday.

New Zealand will be high on confidence after their wins against Zimbabwe at home, and they will be testing South Africa s T20 skills, as the African side have not played any T20 game since October 2011.

South Africa will be eyeing to keep their winning momentum in the three Twenty20 matches ahead of ODI series and then three Tests, which is crucial as they can regain No.1 spot in the ICC Test rankings.


New Zealand: Rob Nicol, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (c&wk), Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Colin de Grandhomme, Nathan McCullum, Doug Bracewell, Kyle Mills, Ronnie Hira, Tim Southee.

South Africa: Richard Levi, Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers (c&wk), JP Duminy, Justin Ontong, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Juan Theron, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary here