Kane Williamson has been in fine form for New Zealand so far © Getty Images
Kane Williamson has played 34 tests for New Zealand so far © Getty Images

Nov 6, 2014

New Zealand cricketers Kane Williamson, Tim Southee and Ross Taylor have made it into the International Cricket Council’s test team of the year for 2014.

Williamson was named as an opening batsman and Southee as a spearhead of the pace attack while Taylor was named as 12th man. The ICC test team is captained by Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews.

The New Zealanders will feature alongside Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Dale Steyn and AB de Villiers(South Africa), Stuart Broad(England) and Mitchell Johnson(Australia).

Pakistan, India and West Indies do not have any representative in the test team.

The international selection panel was headed by former Indian cricketer Anil Kumble and included former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming alongside Jonathan Agnew, the former England international and now a respected broadcaster, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, and Betty Timmer, a former Chairperson of the ICC Women’s Committee.

Young Black Caps Corey Anderson and Jimmy Neesham have been shortlisted for the ICC’s emerging cricketer of the year award alongside the England pair of Gary Balance and Ben Stokes.

However to their utter dismay, no New Zealander made it into the ICC’s one day team for 2014.