Tim Southee (left) was the leading wicket-taker for New Zealand in the fourth ODI at Nelson © Getty Images
Tim Southee (left) was the leading wicket-taker for New Zealand in the fourth ODI at Nelson © Getty Images

Jan 23, 2015

New Zealand and Sri Lanka head to the University Oval at Dunedin on Friday to clash in the fifth game of the seven-match One-Day International (ODI) series. The series is currently 2-1 in favour of New Zealand, after their four-wicket win over the tourists in the previous encounter at Nelson. Read Preview of the New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2014-15  5th ODI at Dunedin.

For Sri Lanka, the biggest worry will be the problem of not being able to build on starts, which they experienced both in the batting and bowling departments. The Sri Lankan top-order clicked to reach a score of 180 for two, but a lower-order collapse prevented the visitors reaching the 300-run mark, getting bowled out for a total of 276. The bowlers managed to get the early advantage by removing Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum early in the second innings. At 63 for three, things were looking murky for the Kiwis. It was Kane Williamson’s brilliance however, that stole the game away from the Sri Lankans.

New Zealand will look to seal the series with a victory in the fifth one-dayer, which will be a great morale-booster for them ahead of the World Cup, which they are to co-host along with Australia. New Zealand will look to contain the top-order of the Sri Lankan batting line-up in order to reduce them to a total that would be within an arm’s reach to chase down.

Time: 22:00 GMT | 3:30 IST


New Zealand: Brendon McCullum(c), Luke Ronchi(wk), Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson, Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews(c), Kumar Sangakkara(wk), Dinesh Chandimal(wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Dhammika Prasad, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dimuth Karunaratne.

Catch Live Blog of the match here

Catch Live Scorecard of the match here