New Zealand win toss, elect to bowl against Sri Lanka in 1st ODI at Hambantota

Corey Anderson performed well in Bangladesh and New Zealand will be hoping he fires against the strong Sri Lanka side © AFP

Nov 10, 2013
New Zealand skipper Kyle Mills won the toss and elected to bowl in the first One-Day International (ODI) against Sri Lanka at Hambantota on Sunday in the three-match ODI series.
New Zealand are a depleted side against a strong. It’s almost a decade since New Zealand have beaten Sri Lanka in ODI series. If the home side wins the series 3-0 they will move up to No 3 in ICC ODI rankings and the Kiwis will move below Bangladesh.
The Kiwis are without their main player Brendon McCullum and Kane Williamson. However, the new players have shown much promise with Corey Anderson, James Neesham and Colin Munro.
The seamers will fancy their chances on the green wicket.


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), AD Mathews (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Anton Devcich, Rob Nicol, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wk), Corey Anderson, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills (c), Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan

Catch live score and ball-by-ball commentary of the first ODI match between Sri Lanka and New Zealand here

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand — Live on Ten Cricket