Greg Chappell    Getty Images (file photo)
Greg Chappell Getty Images (file photo)

Greg Chappell is not too optimistic about Australia s chances in the absence of Steven Smith, David Warner, and Cameron Bancroft, who are currently undergoing a one-year ban by Cricket Australia. This, despite Chappell being part of Cricket Australia’s selection three-member selection panel. In an interview with Julian King of Macquarie Sports Radio, Chappell commented: We don t have any solid expectations, it really is just continuing that development process.

READ Wonderful chance for India to record maiden Test series win on Australian soil: Michael Hussey

We expect to win every game we play but that s unrealistic … The important thing is that we re competitive at all times and we are giving development opportunities … We don t have many solid expectations as such, like we re going to do this or that. It really is just continuing the development process, Chappell commented on Australia s upcoming tour of UAE (to play Pakistan) and Australia A s in India.

READ Sans Smith and Warner, Australia will be OK against India, Sri Lanka: Darren Lehmann

Smith, Warner, and Bancroft are also barred from playing state-level cricket. Was this an error on CA s part, given how much they could have contributed, especially as mentors of the Second XIs?

That will happen, during the summer, obviously. We don t have much domestic cricket going on in the winter months. David Warner and Cameron Bancroft have both been playing up in Darwin … That [mentoring youngsters] will be part of expectations over the next few months. They will be playing club cricket. They will be playing alongside some of the stars of the future, and that can t be underestimated, hinted Chappell.

The Chappell Foundation will host the Sports Stars Sleepout a Greg Chappell idea to create awareness and raise funds for youth homelessness youth. Several Australian athletes, mostly will spend the night at Sydney Cricket Ground this Sunday. The cricketers on the list include Greg and Trevor Chappell, Lisa Sthalekar, Moises Henriques, Ashleigh Gardner, Steve O Keefe, Sean Abbott, Alyssa Healy, and Mitchell Starc.