North, South Zones qualify for Vizzy Trophy  final

Both North Zone and South Zone took lead in the first innings Getty Images

Mumbai: Feb 4, 2012

South Zone and North Zone entered the final of the Vizzy Trophy Inter-Zonal Universities cricket tournament by virtue of taking first innings leads over West Zone and East Zone in the semi finals respectively.

South replied to West”s 408 with 586 before losing all their first innings wickets, while North shot out East for a meagre 206 in reply to their own mammoth first innings total of 606 on the third and final day.

The two matches petered out into tame draws later, pitchforking the two teams that took the first innings leads into the final to be played at the Wankhede Stadium from February 8-11. (PTI)

Brief Score:

West Zone 408 and 192 for 6 (Kevin D”Almeida 99; Abrar Kazi 2 for 33, Rohan Yadav 2 for 18) drew with South Zone 586 (K Sumanth 285, Rd Ashwin 87, S Daniel 91; Maaz Mushtaq 3 for 89, Madan Gaikwad 2 for 69, Swapnil Salvi 2 for 103).

North Zone 606 and 380 for 4 (Dhruv Shaurya 177, Abhishek Gupta 113; Anirban Chatterjee 2 for 58) drew with East Zone 206 (Shayon Mukherjee 65, Atul Sharma 39; Nishad Gulab 38; Lokendra Ramp 2 for 44, Manan Sharma 6 for 47, Charanjeet Singh 2 for 53).