NSW Blues restrict Mumbai Indians to 100 in CLT20 match

Mumbai Indians batsman Kieron Pollard failed to bail his team out of trouble AFP

Chennai: Oct 2, 2011

New South Wales Blues put up a disciplined bowling effort to restrict Mumbai Indians to a paltry 100 for seven in their group A match of the Champions League Twenty20.

James Franklin’s patient unbeaten 42 off 51 balls was the only saving grace for Mumbai Indians as they managed to attain the three-figure mark.

In fact, a 28-run seventh-wicket partnership between Franklin and skipper Harbhajan Singh (15) saved the Mumbai outfit from further embarrassment.

Veteran pacer Stuart Clark (2/15) and left-arm spinner Steve O’Keefe (2/18) did most of the damage for Mumbai, sharing four wickets between them.

Mumbai’s misery can be gauged from the fact that not a single batsmen could manage to clear the ropes once in their entire innings.

Franklin’s knock helped Mumbai rally from a sorry-looking 27 for four to get past the 100-run mark, which undoubtedly is not enough on the MA Chidambaram strip.

The initial damage was done by Clark, who took two wickets in consecutive overs before Mitchell Starc (1/28) and Pat Cummins (1/13) also joined the party with a wicket each to leave Mumbai on the ropes in the fifth over.

Opting to bat, Mumbai openers Aiden Blizzard and Sarul Kanwar found the going tough against Clark and Starc upfront.

NSW struck as early as in the first over with Clark castling through the defence of Blizzard (1) before Starc made claimed the wicket of Kanwar (5) in the next over.

Ambati Rayudu (2) followed suit, caught in slips by Shane Watson off Clark in the third over.

Mumbai, desperate for a partnership having lost three wickets for just nine runs, found themselves in dire straits when Kieron Pollard (8) was bowled by Cummins.

Andrew Symonds (9) and Franklin took the score past 50-run mark in the 12th before the hard-hitting Australian was cleaned up by O’Keefe.

Mumbai never really recovered from the wobbly start they got, which eventually reflected in their total. (PTI)

Brief Scores: MI 100 for 7 in 20 overs (James Franklin 42*, Harbhajan Singh 15; Stuart Clarke 2 for 15, Steve O’Keefe 2 for 18, Patrick Cummins 1 for 13) vs NSW Blues.

Full Scorecard