In the absence of Ab de Villiers and Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle will wiil have the batting onus on him    AFP
In the absence of Ab de Villiers and Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle will will have the batting onus on him AFP

For the fifth time, Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 will host an opening ceremony, this time at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. It will be held before Match No. 5 between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Daredevils (DD). Board of Cricket for Control in India (BCCI) came up with the new initiative of hosting eight opening ceremonies at as many venues to up the excitement level to mark the 10th edition of IPL. The opening ceremony will begin at IST 18:00. The live telecast of the fifth opening ceremony of IPL 10 will be available on Set Max, Sony Six, Sony Six HD, Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD. The live online streaming of IPL 2017 opening ceremonies will be available at ESPN, SonyLIV and Hotstar.

Amy Jackson tried sizzling the crowd in the opening game at Hyderabad but ended up getting trolled big time. Riteish Deshmukh s performance was well appreciated in the second game at Pune. In the third game, Tiger Shroff did his bit at Rajkot whereas Disha Patani tried wooing the audiences in Indore. But all these opening ceremonies have been boring giving clear signals of BCCI s initiative falling flat on its face. Empty stands have been witnessed at large with the crowd only keen to see the games later on. Bollywood celebrities have tried pulling more and more crowd for the opening ceremonies but to no success.

On the contrary, the games played so far in the tournament have not disappointed. There have been some extremely good performances in all the games played so far. So even though there has been no action in the opening ceremonies so far, games have definitely upped the excitement for this 10th edition of the tournament.